Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

Academic Calendar (Graduate)

To view a list of important undergraduate dates by semester, go to Academic Calendars & Schedules.

Fall Semester
2017 2016    
August 1 (Tuesday) August 1 Monday - Last day to submit graduation applications for December 2016 degree conferral.
- Last day to submit applications for comprehensives for Fall. 2016 proctored exams for M.Ed. (Oct.1), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Oct. 1, 8, & 15)
tba August 24 Wednesday New graduate student Fall Convocation - 2016 RSVP
August 27 (midnight) August 28
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
August 28 August 29 Monday - Fall semester begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
September 1 September 2 Friday Labor Day weekend begins
Classes that begin after 4:00 p.m. are canceled
September 4 September 5 Monday Labor Day; Offices closed
September 5 September 6 Tuesday - Late and change registration ends
- Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
September 10 September 11 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
September 11 September 12 Monday Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
September 24 September 25 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
October 1 (Sunday) October 1 Saturday - LAST DAY to submit application for next academic year TLLSC internship (Forms: Teacher Preparation)
- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for format check for December graduation.
tba October 1 Saturday Ph.D., Ed.D., M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin. (M.Ed. has only one session.)
October 1 October 2 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
tba October 8 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
October 9-10 October 10-11 Mon & Tues Fall Break: No classes
tba October 15 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
November 1 (Wednesday) November 1 Tuesday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for December  graduation
November 2 November 3 Thursday  Registration for Spring semester begins at 1:00 p.m.
November 3 November 4 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" 
November 22-25 November 23-26 Wed - Sun Thanksgiving Break; No classes
Offices closed Thrusday and Friday
December 1 (Friday) December 1  Thursday - LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for May degree conferral. (Graduation applications for August degree conferral will be February 1.)
- LAST DAY to submit applications for comprehensives for Spring. 2017 proctored exams for M.Ed. (Feb. 18), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Feb. 18, 25 and March 4)
December 9 December 10 Saturday Fall semester classes end
December 11-16 December 12-17 Mon-Sat Final examinations
Spring Semester
2018 2017    
Janurary 14 (midnight) January 15
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
January 15 January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday; No classes
January 17 January 17 Tuesday - Spring semester begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
January 22 January 23 Monday Late and change registration ends
Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
tba January 30 Monday - Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
- Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 1 (Thursday) February 1 Tuesday LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for August degree conferral.
tba February 13 Monday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
February 12 February 13 Monday Summer registration begins at 9:00 a.m.
tba February 18 Saturday Ph.D., Ed.D. M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin (M.Ed. has only one session).
tba February 20 Monday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
tba February 25 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
March 1 (Thursday) March 1 Wednesday

- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. and Ph.D. dissertation for format check for May graduation.

February 14 March 1 Wednesday Ash Wednesday: Special services available
tba March 4 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
March 5-10 March 6 - 11 Mon-Sat Spring Break: No classes
March 12 March 13 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 26 March 27 Monday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
April 5 March 30 Thursday Registration for Fall semester begins at 1:00 p.m.
April 1 (Friday) April 1 Saturday   LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for May graduation
March 29 -
            April 2
April 13 - 17 Thurs-Mon Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (after 4:00 p.m.) through Monday afternoon (prior to 4:00 p.m.).

Offices closed Good Friday
April 27 April 28 Friday Spring semester classes end
May 1 (Sunday) May 1 Monday LAST DAY to submit dissertation for format check for August degree conferral.
April 30 - May 1 May  1 - 6 Mon- Sat Final examinations
May 9-13 May 9 Tuesday Commencement Ceremony at 10:00 a.m. at the Gentile Center, Lake Shore Campus (detailed info on the ceremony will be posted early March);
Ph.D. & M.A. degrees are conferred at the Graduate School's ceremony at 3:00 p.m.
Summer Semesters
2018 2017    
May 21 May 22 Monday Classes for Summer A semester begin
tba May 23 Tuesday Last day to drop classe(es) with without a "W" grade for Summer A
tba tba tba Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 67% for Summer A
May 28 May 29 Monday Memorial Day observed; Offices closed
June 1 (Friday) June 1 Thursday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2017 degree conferral
June 1 June 2 Friday Make up day for Memorial Day
tba tba tba LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 33% for Summer A
(zero credit hereafter)
June 22 June 23 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" for Summer A
June 29 June 30 Friday Summer A semester ends
July 4 (Wednesday) July 3 & 4 Mon/Tues Independence Day observed; Offices closed
July 2 (Monday) July 5 Wednesday Classes for Summer B semester begin
July 3 (Tuesday) July 7
Friday Last day to drop classe(es) without a 'W' grade
tba tba tba Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100% for Summer B
July 6 July 7 Friday Make up day for Independence Day
tba tba tba Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 67% for Summer B
tba tba tba LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 33% for Summer B
(zero credit hereafter)
August 1 (Wednesday) August 1 Tuesday LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for December degree conferral.
August 3 August 4 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" for Summer B
August 10 August 11 Friday Summer B semester ends
August 27 August 28 Monday Classes for Fall semester begins