Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

Academic Calendar (Graduate)

To view a list of important undergraduate dates by semester, go to Academic Calendars & Schedules.

Fall 2016
August 1 Monday - Last day to submit graduation applications for December 2016 degree conferral.
- Last day to submit applications for comprehensives for Fall 2016. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Oct.1), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Oct. 1, 8, & 15)
August 24 Wednesday New graduate student Fall Convocation - RSVP
August 28
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
August 29 Monday - Fall semester 2016 begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
September 2 Friday Labor Day weekend begins
Classes that begin after 4:00 p.m. are canceled
September 5 Monday Labor Day; Offices closed
September 6 Tuesday - Late and change registration ends
- Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
September 11 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
September 12 Monday Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
September 26 Sunday Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
October 1 Saturday - LAST DAY to submit application for 2017-18 TLLSC internship (Forms: Teacher Preparation)
- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. or Ph.D. dissertation for format check for December 2016 graduation.
- Ph.D., Ed.D., M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin. (M.Ed. has only one session.)
October 2 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
October 8 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
October 10-11 Mon & Tues Fall Break: No classes
October 15 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
November 1 Tuesday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF copy of Ed.D. dissertation for December 2016 graduation (the final approved PDF and paper copy of Ph.D. dissertation)
November 3 Thursday  Registration for Spring semester 2017 begins at 1:00 p.m.
November 4 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" 
November 23-26 Wed - Sun Thanksgiving Break; No classes
Offices closed Nov. 24 & 25
December 1  Thursday - LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for May 2017  degree conferral. (Graduation applications for August 2017 degree conferral will be February 1, 2017.)
- LAST DAY to submit applications for comprehensives for Spring 2017. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (Feb. 18), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (Feb. 18, 25 and March 4)
- LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for December 2016 graduation
December 10 Saturday Fall semester classes end
December 12-17 Mon-Sat Final examinations
Spring 2017
tba tba New graduate student Spring orientation
January 15
(midnight)
Sunday Open registration ends
January 16 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday; No classes
January 17 Tuesday - Spring semester 2017 begins
- Late and change registration begins
- Late registration fees apply
January 23 Monday Late and change registration ends
Last day to withdraw without a "W" grade
January 30 Monday - Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100%
- Last day to convert from credit to audit or vice versa
February 1 Tuesday LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for August 2017  degree conferral.
February 13 Monday - Last day to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 50%
- Summer 2017 registration begins at 9:00 a.m.
February 18 Saturday Ph.D., Ed.D. M.Ed. proctored comprehensive exams in education begin (M.Ed. has only one session).
February 20 Monday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 20%
(zero credit hereafter)
February 25 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education continue.
March 1 Wednesday

- LAST DAY to submit Ed.D. and Ph.D. dissertation for format check for May 2017 graduation.
- Ash Wednesday: Special services available

March 4 Saturday Ph.D. and Ed.D. proctored comprehensive exams in education conclude.
March 6 - 11 Mon-Sat Spring Break: No classes
March 13 Monday Classes resume after Spring Break
March 24-28 Thurs-Mon  
March 27 Monday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF"
March 30 Thursday Registration for Fall semester 2017 begins at 1:00 p.m.
April 1 Saturday   LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF of Ed.D. dissertation for May 2017 graduation (the final approved PDF and paper copy of Ph.D. dissertation)
April 13 - 17 Thurs-Mon Easter Holiday: No classes Thursday evening (after 4:00 p.m.) through Monday afternoon (prior to 4:00 p.m.).

Offices closed Good Friday, April 14
April 28 Friday Spring semester classes end
May 1 Monday - LAST DAY to submit dissertation for format check for August 2017 degree conferral.
- LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for May 2017 degree conferral.
May  1 - 6 Mon- Sat Final examinations
tba tba Commencement Ceremony at the Gentile Center, Lake Shore Campus (detailed info on the ceremony will be posted early March);
Ph.D. & M.A. degrees are conferred at the Graduate School's ceremony
August 28 Monday Classes for Fall 2017 begin
Summer 2016
May 23 Monday Classes for Summer A semester 2016 begin
May 24 Tuesday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100% for Summer A
May 29 Sunday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 67% for Summer A
May 30 Monday Memorial Day observed; Offices closed
June 1 Wednesday LAST DAY to submit final approved PDF copy of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2016 degree conferral
June 3 Friday Make up day for Memorial Day
June 5 Sunday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 33% for Summer A
(zero credit hereafter)
June 24 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" for Summer A
July 1 Friday - Summer A semester ends
- LAST DAY to submit final approved paper copy of Ed.D. dissertation for August 2016 degree conferral.
July 4 Monday Independence Day observed; Offices closed
July 5 Tuesday Classes for Summer B semester 2016 begin
July 6 Wednesday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 100% for Summer B
July 8 Friday Make up day for Independence Day
July 11 Monday Last day to drop classe(es) with a Bursar credit of 67% for Summer B
July 18 Monday LAST DAY to drop class(es) with a Bursar credit of 33% for Summer B
(zero credit hereafter)
August 1 Monday - LAST DAY to submit graduation applications for December 2016 degree conferral.
- LAST DAY to submit applications for Fall comprehensives. Proctored exams for M.Ed. (October 1), Ed.D. and Ph.D. (October 1, 8, 15)
August 5 Friday LAST DAY to withdraw without a penalty grade of "WF" for Summer B
August 12 Friday Summer B semester ends
August 29 Monday Classes for Fall semester 2016 begin