Who We Are

Founded in 1980, the Society is an international association of persons interested in the
art and thought of T. S. Eliot. Our annual meeting is held in St. Louis, the city of Eliot's birth, on the weekend closest to his September 26th birthday. Among other activities, the meeting features the T. S. Eliot Memorial Lecture, given by an eminent scholar or poet.

The Society publishes a newsletter, Time Present, three times yearly, and it regularly sponsors sessions at the MLA and SAMLA annual conventions, the conference of the American Literature Association, and the Louisville Conference on Literature & Culture since 1900.

Incorporated as a non-profit organization, the Society is supported by the annual dues of its members. Click here to join (or renew). For further information concerning membership, please contact the Vice President, Frances Dickey. The Society's mailing address is 5007 Waterman Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63108.

The Society is governed by its by-laws.

Board of Directors

Michael Coyle, President
Frances Dickey, Vice President
Tony Cuda, Secretary
Melanie Fathman, Treasurer
John Morgenstern, Historian
David E. Chinitz, Supervisor of Elections
Christine Buttram
Julia E. Daniel
Nancy K. Gish
Earl Holt III
Anita Patterson
Cyrena Pondrom

T. S. Eliot Memorial Lecturers

Sarah Cole, 2014
Jahan Ramazani, 2013
Daniel Albright, 2012
Jean-Michel Rabaté, 2011
Michael Levenson, 2010
Ronald Bush, 2009
Grace Schulman, 2008
George T. Wright, 2007
William Blissett, 2006
Robert Crawford, 2005
Craig Raine, 2004
Leon Surette, 2003
Marjorie Perloff, 2002
Geoffrey Hill, 2001
Carl Phillips, 2000
Helen Vendler, 1999
Charles Altieri, 1998
James Longenbach, 1997
Marianne Thormählen, 1996
Louis Menand, 1995
Willian Harmon, 1994
Christopher Ricks, 1993
Denis Donoghue, 1992
Cleo McNelly Kearns, 1991
Shyamal Bagchee, 1990
Leonard Unger, 1989
A. D. Moody, 1988
James Olney, 1987
Grover Smith, 1986
Ronald Schuchard, 1985
Jewel Spears Brooker, 1984
Earl K. Holt, III, 1983
Charles Guenther, 1982
Robert C. Roach, 1981
Marcella Holloway, 1980

Distinguished Service Awardees

Jewel Spears Brooker
William Charron
Anthony Fathman


Friends of
the Society

Lyndall Gordon
T. Austin Graham
The Earl of Harrowby

William Marx
Jahan Ramazani
Vincent Sherry

Honorary Members

Jewel Spears Brooker
A. D. Moody
Craig Raine
Christopher Ricks
Ronald Schuchard
Marianne Thormählen


Past Presidents

David E. Chinitz (2010-12)
William Harmon (2007-09)
Benjamin Lockerd (2004-06)
Shyamal Bagchee (2001-03)
Linda Wyman (1998-2000)
Sanford Schwartz (1995-97)
Vinnie-Marie D'Ambrosio (1992-94)
Grover C. Smith (1989-91)
Jewel Spears Brooker (1985-88)


Leslie Konnyu
Könnyü László
(b. 1914, Tamási, Hungary;
d. 1992, St. Louis)