Loyola University Chicago

Founders' Dinner

2003 Awards & Recipients

2003 Awards & Recipients


President's Medal

Honoring a Loyola alumnus(a) who has spent a lifetime in public service, living the Jesuit ideal of a "person for others"

The Honorable Neil F. Hartigan, (JD, 1962)
Justice - Appellate Court of Illinois 

Heart of Loyola

Honoring an alumnus(a) who embodies the heart of Loyola through his or her extraordinary generosity and commitment to Jesuit education.

Patrick H. Arbor, (BBA '58)
Principal - Shatkin, Arbor & Karlov

Spirit of Loyola

Honoring an individual or individuals who exemplify the Ignatian spirit of leadership 
and service to the community.

Reverend James Close 
Mercy Home for Boys & Girls 

Coffey Award

Named for M. Justitia Coffey, BVM, the first president of Mundelein College, this award honors an alumna for her leadership in the community, accomplishments in industry, and service to others.

Sharon Gist Gilliam, (Mundelein College, '65)

Caritas Award

Honoring a corporation or foundation who has contributed significantly to the betterment of society and the university community with its extraordinary philanthropy.

Brach Foundation


Damen Awards

Named for Loyola University Chicago's primary founder, Arnold Damen, S.J., this award is granted to an alumnus(a) from each of Loyola's schools and colleges. It recognizes the qualities of leadership in industry, leadership in community and service to others.

College of Arts & Sciences
Peggy & Peter Steinfels, BA 1963, BA 1963

Quinlan School of Business
John J. Terry, BBA '59

School of Education
Sandria D. Rodriguez, PhD, PhD '98

The Graduate School
Karen L. Meyer, MA '85

School of Law
The Hon. Mary Ann G. McMorrow, J.D. '53


Stritch School of Medicine
Rodney S. Alford, MD, BS '79, MD '82

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing
Helen Ramirez-Odell, BSN '64

University College (now Mundelein College)
Richard J. Peterson, BS '51

School of Social Work
Agnes L. Piszczek, MSW '61