Loyola University Chicago

Founders' Dinner

2004 Awards & Recipients

2004 Awards & Recipients


President's Medal

Honoring a Loyola alumnus(a) who has spent a lifetime in public service, living the Jesuit ideal of a "person for others"

William Plante, (A&S '69)
CBS White House Correspondent

Heart of Loyola

Honoring an alumnus(a) who embodies the heart of Loyola through his or her extraordinary generosity and commitment to Jesuit education.

Most Rev. Bishop Edwin Conway, (MSW '70)
Vicar General

Spirit of Loyola

Honoring an individual or individuals who exemplify the Ignatian spirit of leadership 
and service to the community.

Barbara Gaines
Chicago Shakespeare Theater
Founder & Artistic Director 

Coffey Award

Named for M. Justitia Coffey, BVM, the first president of Mundelein College, this award honors an alumna for her leadership in the community, accomplishments in industry, and service to others.

Patricia Ewers, (PhD '57)

Dux Mirabilis

Latin for "extraordinary leader," the Dux Mirabilis Award is presented to a member of Loyola's faculty or staff for his or her extraordinary contributions to the University and its mission.

John E. Reilly, S.J.

Caritas Award

Honoring a corporation or foundation who has contributed significantly to the betterment of society and the university community with its extraordinary philanthropy.

Arthur J. Schmitt Foundation 


Damen Awards

Named for Loyola University Chicago's primary founder, Arnold Damen, S.J., this award is granted to an alumnus(a) from each of Loyola's schools and colleges. It recognizes the qualities of leadership in industry, leadership in community and service to others.

College of Arts & Sciences
Stuart Dybek, A&S '64

School of Business Administration
James Sandner, BBA '61

School of Education
Barbara Eason-Watkins, Ed.D. '99

The Graduate School
Carol S. Sonnenschein, MA '90, PhD '95

School of Law
Thomas P. Sullivan '52


Stritch School of Medicine
Judith Froelich-Klamut, MD '73
Michael Klamut, MD '73

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing
Dephane Jensen Rose, '51

School of Professional Studies
Sr. Bonaventure Kusek, C.R., BBA '66 

School of Social Work
Lucy Lang-Chappell, LSCW, Ph.D., MSW '60