Loyola University Chicago

Founders' Dinner

2005 Awards & Recipients

2005 Awards & Recipients


Heart of Loyola

Honoring an alumnus(a) who embodies the heart of Loyola through his or her extraordinary generosity and commitment to Jesuit education.

The Hon. Patrick T. Murphy, (A&S '61)

Spirit of Loyola

Honoring an individual or individuals who exemplify the Ignatian spirit of leadership 
and service to the community.

Mary A. Dempsey
Chicago Public Library 

Coffey Award

Named for M. Justitia Coffey, BVM, the first president of Mundelein College, this award honors an alumna for her leadership in the community, accomplishments in industry, and service to others.

Barbara Baynes Mahoney, (BFA '53)

Dux Mirabilis

Latin for "extraordinary leader," the Dux Mirabilis Award is presented to a member of Loyola's faculty or staff for his or her extraordinary contributions to the University and its mission.

Mary Pat Haley, B.V.M. 
Professor, Dept. of Communications


Damen Awards

Named for Loyola University Chicago's primary founder, Arnold Damen, S.J., this award is granted to an alumnus(a) from each of Loyola's schools and colleges. It recognizes the qualities of leadership in industry, leadership in community and service to others.

College of Arts & Sciences
The Hon. Richard A. Devine, BA '65

Quinlan School of Business
William G. Kistner, BBA '72

School of Education
Harry P. Rossi, Ed.D., EdD '85

The Graduate School
Rebecca C. Burwell, PhD, MA '99, PhD '04

School of Law
William R. Quinlan, BS '61, JD '64

Stritch School of Medicine
John F. Moran, M.D., BS '60, MD '64

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing
Wendy J. Barr, Ph.D., BSN '69

School of Professional Studies
Michael L. Conklin, MA '04

School of Social Work
Veronica A. Coleman , MSW '80