At a Glance

By the Numbers

  • 16,040 enrolled students
  • 71 undergraduate majors and 71 minors
  • 85 master's, 31 doctoral degrees, and 26 graduate-level certificate programs
  • 1,469 full-time staff members, 139 part-time staff members, and 784 full-time faculty members
  • 15:1 Undergraduate student/faculty ratio
  • 150,000 alumni; 85,000 in Chicago
  • One of only eight percent of all American colleges and universities to have a Phi Beta Kappa honor society chapter
  • $32,200: Undergraduate tuition (full-time entering in the fall)

Michael J. Garanzini, S.J.
President and CEO

Loyola University Chicago, a private university founded in 1870 as St. Ignatius College, is one of the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic Universities and the only one located in Chicago.

Loyola University Chicago is comprised of four campuses: Lake Shore (LSC), Water Tower (WTC), Health Sciences (HSC), and the John Felice Rome Center in Italy, and is home to ten schools and colleges: arts and sciences, business administration, communication, education, graduate studies, law, medicine, nursing, continuing and professional studies, and social work. Loyola also features course locations in Beijing, China; Saigon-Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; Vernon Hills, Illinois (Cuneo Mansion and Gardens); and a Retreat and Ecology Campus in Woodstock, Illinois.

Recognizing Loyola’s excellence in education, U.S. News and World Report has ranked Loyola consistently among the "top national universities" in its annual publications. Loyola is among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations like the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service.

Lake Shore Campus

  • Acquired in 1906. State of Illinois issued charter that founded Loyola University Chicago in 1909
  • Serves as main residential and undergraduate campus; home to more than 3,000 students, and set along the shores of Lake Michigan
  • Home to more than 40 buildings, including the newly renovated 45,000 square-foot Joseph J. Gentile Arena; the Michael R. and Marilyn Quinlan Life Sciences Education and Research Center, an innovative facility featuring state-of-the-art science labs; Cudahy Library, the main University library; the Richard J. Klarchek Information Commons, a 72,000 square-foot environmentally friendly annex to Cudahy Library that is Silver Level Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certified; the Norville Center for Intercollegiate Athletics; and the new Cuneo Hall, one of the most innovative and energy conscious buildings in the midwest.
  • Site of Mundelein Center, a national historic landmark, and the home of a multipurpose fine arts and theatre programming center
  • Location of the College of Arts and Sciences, the largest of the University’s ten schools and colleges; the Graduate School, offering master’s and doctoral degree programs in a variety of areas; and the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing, the first accredited collegiate nursing school in Illinois

Lake Shore Campus is located at 1032 W. Sheridan Ave.

Water Tower Campus

  • Established in 1946, located just off Michigan Avenue, Chicago’s famed “Magnificent Mile”
  • Downtown location offers invaluable access to internships, careers, and networking opportunities with locally and nationally recognized Fortune 500 companies
  • Host to a majority of graduate-level classes, along with some undergraduate classes
  • Home to the Quinlan School of Business, School of Education, Corboy Law Center, School of Continuing and Professional Studies, School of Social Work, School of Communication, and Institute of Pastoral Studies
  • Houses Office of the President, along with other key University administrative offices
  • Site of the Loyola University Museum of Art (LUMA), and the University’s historic Lewis Towers
  • Location of Loyola’s only downtown residence hall, the Rev. Raymond C. Baumhart, S.J., Residence Hall and Terry Student Center

Water Tower Campus is located at 820 N. Michigan Ave.

Health Sciences Campus

  • Home to the University's Health Sciences Division, which includes the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing, the Stritch School of Medicine, the biomedical research programs of the Graduate School, and several other institutes and centers encouraging new research and interprofessional education opportunities across all of Loyola University Chicago
  • For more information, visit or call 708.216.4HSD (4473)

The Health Science Campus is located at 2160 S. First Avenue in Maywood, IL

The John Felice Rome Center

  • Established in 1962
  • Provides more than 400 students a year with the cultural advantages of studying abroad, making it one of the largest centers in Western Europe for international education in the arts and sciences
  • Students live and study on five-acre campus on Via Massimi in Monte Mario, four miles from downtown Rome, Italy
  • Alma mater of more than 13,000 alumni worldwide

The John Felice Rome Center is located at Via Massimi 114/A in Rome, Italy

Information in this page is correct as of July 2012.