Loyola University Chicago

School of Law

Keynote Speaker

Keynote Address by
Martha Minow


Morgan and Helen Chu Dean and Professor of Law
Harvard Law School 

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Martha Minow is the Morgan and Helen Chu Dean and Professor of Law at Harvard Law School where she has taught since 1981. An expert in human rights with a focus on members of racial and religious minorities and women, children, and persons with disabilities, her scholarship also has addressed private military contractors, management of mass torts, transitional justice, and law, culture, and social change. She has published over 150 articles and her books include In Brown’s Wake: Legacies of America’s Educational Landmark (2010); Partners, Not Rivals, Privatization and the Public Good (2002); and Between Vengeance and Forgiveness: Facing History After Genocide and Mass Violence (1998); she is co-editor of law school casebooks on civil procedure, and on gender and the law. She has delivered more than 75 named or endowed lectures and keynote addresses.

Following nomination by President Obama and confirmation by the Senate, she serves as vice-chair of the board of the Legal Services Corporation. She previously chaired the board of directors for the Revson Foundation (New York) and now serves on the board of the MacArthur Foundation, and other nonprofit organizations. She is a former member of the board of the Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, the Covenant Foundation, the Iranian Human Rights Documentation Center, and former chair of the Scholar’s Board of Facing History and Ourselves.

A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of Michigan and the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Minow received her law degree at Yale Law School before serving as a law clerk to Judge David Bazelon and Justice Thurgood Marshall. A member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society, her awards include the Sacks-Freund Teaching Award; the Holocaust Center Award; the Radcliffe Graduate Society Medal; Trinity College History Society Gold Medal; and eight honorary doctorates.