Loyola University Chicago

Music

Department of Fine and Performing Arts

Academics

Music at Loyola encourages self-expression through music, engaging students with coursework and performance opportunities that encourage success in performance and composition in a variety of settings. We offer advanced studies in performance and composition, with concentrations in Jazz Studies and Liturgical Music, and prepare students for graduate studies in music and related fields.

Chicago offers a vibrant musical culture, affording Loyola's students access to cutting-edge music in all its current and emerging forms. With diverse course offerings and professional faculty, Music at Loyola is a program where music majors can study at the highest level with the intent of pursuing a career in music, while non-music majors can experience the joy of making music as an accompaniment to their other coursework.

 

NameTitleOffice #Contact Info
Frederick Lowe, D.M. Director of Ensembles 
Conductor, Wind Ensemble & Pep Band
Mundelein 175 773.508.7972 
flowe@luc.edu
Scott Burns, M.M. Jazz Ensemble Director, Instructor of Saxophone  Mundelein 177 773.508.7974 
sburns5@luc.edu
Kirsten Hedegaard, M.A. Choral Ensembles Director, Lecturer of Voice Mundelein 1113 773.508.7974 
khedegaard@luc.edu
Charles L. Jurgensmeier, S.J. Director of Chamber ChoirAssociate Professor, Director of Music  Mundelein 1103

773 - 508-8313 cjurgensmeier@luc.edu  

Steven Betancourt, B.A., M.M. Director of Liturgical Ensemble, Asst. Dir., Campus Ministry  Damen Student Center 225

 773 - 508-2195 sbetancourt@luc.edu

Colin Holman, Ph.D.  Director of Orchestra Mundelein 175

773.508.7972 cholman@luc.edu