Loyola University Chicago

Institute of Environmental Sustainability

Our People

Loyola's Institute of Environmental Sustainability (IES) provides students with the technical skills and experience to become innovative leaders in environmental research, policy, sustainability, and stewardship.

IES also strives to bring scientists, social scientists, engineers, policy makers, and government, community, and industry leaders together to share knowledge and develop real-world solutions to environmental problems. These are the folks who help make that happen.

Institute of Environmental Sustainability Administrative Team

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Nancy Tuchman, PhD Founding Dean, Institute of Environmental Sustainability BVM Hall 307 773.508.2475
ntuchma@luc.edu
Rachel Leamon, MA Executive Assistant to the Dean BVM 308 773.508.8934
rleamon@luc.edu
Daniel S. Amick, PhD Associate Dean of Faculty, Institute of Environmental Sustainability
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
BVM Hall 310 773.508.3446
damick@luc.edu
Christopher G. Peterson, PhD Associate Dean of Academics, Institute of Environmental Sustainability
Professor, Department of Biology
BVM Hall 316 773.508.2950
cpeters@luc.edu
Aaron N. Durnbaugh Director of Sustainability BVM Hall 209 773.508.7558
adurnbaugh@luc.edu
Enikö Rácz, MBA Business Manager BVM Hall 309 773.508.2142
eracz@luc.edu
Christine Wolff Office Coordinator
IJEP Project Coordinator
BVM Hall 311 773.508.2141
cwolff1@luc.edu

IES Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Laura Brentner, PhD Instructor BVM 215 773.508.3289
lbrentner@luc.edu
JoBeth D'Agostino, PhD Associate Professor,
Associate Provost for Curriculum Development
Burrowes 209 773.508.7063
jdagost@luc.edu
Ray Dybzinski, PhD Assistant Professor BVM Hall 312 773.508.2486
rdybzinski@luc.edu
Tham C. Hoang, PhD Associate Professor, Ecotoxicologist BVM Hall 314 773.508.8194
thoang@luc.edu
Ping Jing, PhD Assistant Professor BVM Hall 423 773.508.7560
pjing@luc.edu
Theresa Johnston, PhD Instructor BVM 403 773508-3615
tjohnston@luc.edu
Reuben P. Keller, PhD Associate Professor BVM Hall 401 773.508.2952
rkeller1@luc.edu
Dr. Roberta Lammers-Campbell, PhD Director, Academic Programs and Ecological Restoration at Loyola’s Retreat and Ecology Campus (LUREC) LSB 241 773.508.3651 (LSC); 815.338.1032 (LUREC)
rlammer@luc.edu
Nancy Landrum, PhD Professor BVM 315 773.508.8953
nlandrum@luc.edu
Rev. Stephen Mitten, S.J. Advanced Lecturer, Director of Undergraduate Research at LUREC BVM Hall 313; LUREC 773.508.8241
smittensj@luc.edu
Brian Ohsowski, PhD Lecturer BVM 211 773.508.8920
bohsowski@luc.edu
Tania M. Schusler, PhD Advanced Lecturer and Solutions to Environmental Problems (STEP) Coordinator BVM Hall 425 773.508.8954
tschusler@luc.edu

Part Time Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Brendan Carson, MS Research Associate, Instructor BVM 219 773.508.2593
bcarson1@luc.edu
Larry De Buhr, PhD Instructor BVM Hall 214 773.508.8922
ldebuhr@luc.edu
Richard DiMaio Instructor BVM Hall 214 773.508.8923
rdimaio@luc.edu
Paul Gross Instructor BVM Hall 214 773.508.8923
pgross1@luc.edu
Crystal Guzman Instructor BVM Hall 422 773.508.8280
cguzman2@luc.edu
Anuradha (Anu) Krishnaswamy Instructor BVM 422 773.508.8980
akrishnaswamy@luc.edu
Brian Kristall Instructor BVM 214 773.508.8923
bkristall@luc.edu
Drew Monks Research Associate, Instructor IES 219 773.508.2122
amonks@luc.edu
Michael Ribant Instructor BVM 422 773.508.8980
mribant@luc.edu

IES Staff Members

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Kevin Erickson Urban Agriculture Coordinator BVM Hall 222 773.508.8925
kerickson2@luc.edu
Shane Lishawa, BS, MS Research Associate slishawa@luc.edu
Zach Waickman, MBA Biodiesel Lab Manager IES 109 773.508.8852
zwaickm@luc.edu
Shanna Yetman, MFA Communications Coordinator BVM Hall 212 773.508.8334
syetman@luc.edu
Zhenwei Zhu Lab Manager - Loyola Environmental Testing Laboratory (LETL), Analytical Chemist BVM 317 773-508-2056
zzhu6@luc.edu

Affiliated Faculty

NameTitleOfficePhone and Email
Martin B. Berg, PhD Professor, Department of Biology 
Aquatic Ecologist
  773.508.8853 
mberg@luc.edu
James M. Calcagno, PhD Professor, Department of Anthropology 
Director, Loyola Fellowship Office
BVM Hall 701 773.508.3472 
jcalcag@luc.edu
Domenic Castignetti, PhD Professor, Department of Biology   773.508.3638 
dcastig@luc.edu
M. Paul Chiarelli, PhD Professor, Department of Chemistry   773.508.3106 
mchiare@luc.edu
Elizabeth Coffman, PhD Associate Professor of Communications
Documentary Studies, Environmental Advocacy,
Media Outreach
 

312.915.6716
ecoffma@luc.edu

Alanah Fitch, PhD Professor, Department of Chemistry   773.508.3119 
afitch@luc.edu
Connie Fletcher, PhD Associate Professor, School of Communication SOC 210 312.915.6819
cfletch@luc.edu
William C. French, PhD Associate Professor, Theology   773.508.2356 
wfrench@luc.edu
John P. Frendreis Professor, Department of Political Science   773.508.3054 
jfrendr@luc.edu
Timothy Hoellein Assistant Professor 
Aquatic Ecologist
  773.508.8859 
thoellein@luc.edu
Ben Johnson Associate Professor, Environmental History Crown Center 773.508.3082
bjohnson25@luc.edu
Theodore Karamanski, PhD Professor, Department of History 
Public History Graduate Director
Crown Center 517 773.508.2684 
tkarama@luc.edu
John J. Kelly Professor, Department of Biology   773.508.7097 
jkelly7@luc.edu
Konstantin Läufer Professor and Chairperson of Computer Science LT-531A 312.915.7983 
laufer@cs.luc.edu
Timothy O'Brien Graduate Program Director (Statistics) 
Professor
Loyola Hall 312 773.508.2129 
tobrie1@luc.edu
Mark A. Pollock, PhD Associate Professor, School of Communication 
Program Director, Communication Studies
Lewis Towers 907 312.915.6912 
mpolloc@luc.edu
Martina Schmeling, PhD Associate Professor Flanner Hall 408 773.508.3124 
mschmel@luc.edu