Webinar|Loyola University Chicago

Webinar

searchform
This siteLUC.edu

Meeting Templates

A template is simply a meeting room that has already been designed. It can contain one or several layouts with different display panels (or pods), configurations, and content. Layouts can be optimized for a specific task, such as presenting slides or collaborating with peers. Leverage existing layouts and content to reduce repetitive customization each time you create a meeting. Create your own templates or use the default templates included in Adobe Connect.

To help you quickly create a meeting room, Adobe Connect offers three built‑in templates: Default Meeting, Default Training, and Default Events. When you create a meeting by using the New Meeting wizard in Adobe Connect Central, you simply select one of these three templates for your meeting room, add your content, and start your meeting.

When you create a meeting room from a template, the latest version of the content is added to your room. If you edit the source file for the embedded content, the changes do not affect the content in your room. To update the content in your meeting room, upload the revised file to the Adobe Connect server and then replace the existing content in the meeting room with the revised content on the server.

Default Meeting template

General template for meetings. It contains three layouts: Sharing, Discussion, and Collaboration. The Sharing layout is optimized for sharing content (Microsoft PowerPoint presentations, video, Adobe PDF, and so on). The Discussion layout is optimized for discussing issues interactively and taking notes. The Collaboration layout is optimized for annotating content and drawing freehand on content.

Default Meeting Room Layouts  
Sharing Discussion Collaboration

Default Training template

Used for online collaborative instruction and virtual classrooms. It contains three layouts: Lobby, Classroom, and Analysis. The Lobby layout is a place to exhibit a self-running presentation or display other preliminary content. Leave the Lobby layout open so that attendees can browse its content while waiting for the meeting to begin. From the Classroom layout, present PowerPoint slides, share your screen, or share a whiteboard. The Analysis layout enables you to collaborate with students, provide files to download and links to browse, and use a whiteboard for instruction.

Default Events template

Used for meetings or seminars with a large audience. It contains three layouts: Lobby, Presentation, and Questions And Answers. The Lobby layout is a place to play music, exhibit a self-running presentation, or display other preliminary content. Leave the Lobby layout open so that attendees can browse content while waiting for the meeting to begin. From the Presentation layout you present PowerPoint slides, share your screen, or show a whiteboard. The Questions And Answers layout facilitates an open Q & A session with participants.

Creating and Managing a Meeting Room Layout

The Layouts menu and the Layout bar is visible only to hosts. The default layouts are Sharing, Discussion, and Collaboration.

To create a blank layout to which you manually add pods, or a duplicate of an existing layout that you want to customize, do one of the following:

  • Choose Layouts > Create New Layout
  • Click in the Layout bar

Manage layouts

The default layouts are Sharing, Discussion, and Collaboration. You can delete, rename, or change the order of the layouts.

Rename a layout

  1. To rename a layout, choose Layouts > Manage Layouts.
  2. In the Manage Layouts dialog box, select a layout.Click Rename and enter a new name.
  3. Double-click the layout name in the Layout bar and then enter a new name.

Delete a layout

  1. To delete a layout, choose Layouts > Manage Layouts.
  2. In the Manage Layouts dialog box, select a layout.Click Delete and confirm.
  3. In the Layout bar, move the pointer over the layout and then click the X icon that appears to delete it.

Note: If you delete a layout that is currently in use, default Sharing layout is applied to the meeting.

Reorder layouts

  1. To change the order the layouts, choose Layouts > Manage Layouts.
  2. In the Manage Layouts dialog box, select a layout.
  3. Click Up or Down buttons to reorder the layouts.

Tip: Drag the layout preview in the Layout bar to change the order of the layouts.

Change layouts during a meeting

The Layouts menu and the Layout bar is visible only to hosts. The default layouts are Sharing, Discussion, and Collaboration. Any custom layouts are also listed. The Layout bar also displays thumbnails for the layouts. When a host chooses a different layout, the new layout appears on every attendee’s screen.

To change the layout, do one of the following:

  1. Choose Layouts > [Layout Name]
  2. Click a layout in the Layout bar.

Note: If all the layouts do not fit in the Layout bar, to scroll through the layouts hover the pointer over the first or the last layout previews. You can also use the panning options or the mouse wheel to scroll through.

Adjust layouts during a meeting

During a meeting, hosts can adjust layouts without affecting the active layout currently seen by attendees.

  1. Choose Meeting > Switch to Prepare Mode. Alternatively, click  in the Layout bar.
  2. From the Layouts menu or the Layout bar, choose the layout you want to adjust. Then move, hide, or show pods as needed.
  3. When you finish adjusting the layout, choose Meeting > End Prepare Mode or click  in the Layout bar.

Choose a background image for the meeting room

You can replace the default gray background with an image.

  1. Choose Meeting > Preferences.
  2. Click upload, then navigate to the desired image. If you haven’t previously added the file to Connect, click Browse My Computer.

Reset Layouts

Reset layouts to revert to the default layouts. Any modifications to the Sharing, Discussion, and Collaboration layouts are reverted, and custom layouts are deleted.

  • Choose Layouts > Reset Layouts.

Note: You cannot reset layouts if a meeting is being recorded.

Specify Layout bar options

Layout bar options let you specify the docking position, and Auto hide settings. From the Layout bar menu, choose one of the following:

  • Dock to the left: Enable to dock the Layout Bar to the left edge of the meeting room window.
  • Dock to the right: Enable to dock the Layout Bar to the right edge of the meeting room window.
  • Auto Hide: Enable to Auto Hide the Layout Bar. Click the to pull out the Layout Bar.

This user guide is protected under copyright law, furnished for informational use only, is subject to change without notice, and should not be construed as a commitment by Adobe Systems Incorporated. Adobe Systems Incorporated assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or inaccuracies that may appear in the informational content contained in this guide. This user guide is licensed for use under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial 3.0 License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/

Edit this page