Webinar|Loyola University Chicago

Webinar

searchform
This siteLUC.edu

Chat in Meetings

Use the Chat pod to communicate with other attendees while a meeting is in progress. If you have a question and do not want to disturb the meeting flow, you can send a chat message to another meeting participant. For example, when you first enter a meeting room, you can introduce yourself by sending a chat message to everyone in the room.

As a presenter, you can use more than one Chat pod simultaneously. Chat pods can display content to either everyone or only presenters (in the Presenter Only area).

Chat pod content is persistent, and remains in a meeting room until deleted. If you want to preserve Chat pod content for future use, you can e‑mail the content.

Send a chat message

Use the Chat pod to compose a chat message and address it to a specific participant, to all presenters at the meeting, or to all attendees.

  1. By default, everyone will see the message. To limit the recipients, click the menu icon in the upper-right corner of the Chat pod. Choose Start Chat With, and then select Hosts, Presenters, or specific attendees.



  2. At the bottom of the Chat pod, tabs appear that let you view different conversations.
  3. Click the text box in the Chat pod.
  4. Enter your message.
  5. Do one of the following:
    1. Click Send Message to the right of the text box.
    2. Press Enter or Return.

      Your name, the addressee name, and your message appear in the Chat pod.

Clear messages from a Chat pod

When an empty Chat pod is required in a meeting, a host or presenter can clear all messages for all attendees.

  1. In the upper-right corner of the Chat pod, click the menu icon .
  2. Select Clear Chat.

Disable private chat between participants

By default, two participants can chat privately. As a host or presenter, you can disable this option and prevent private chat.

  1. Choose Meeting > Preferences.
  2. Select Chat Pod from the list on the left.
  3. Deselect Enable Private Chat For Participants.

Use chat notifications

If you are a host or presenter using the Connect Add‑in, chat notifications let you communicate with your audience while you are presenting and the meeting window is minimized or maximized to full-screen, concealing the Chat pod. If an attendee sends you a message while you are presenting in full screen or screen sharing mode, a notification appears in the lower-right corner of the screen. You can see the sender’s name and the first few words of the message in the notification window. By default, chat notifications are enabled. If you don’t want notifications to be shown while you are presenting, you can disable them.

  1. Choose Meeting > Preferences.
  2. Select Chat Pod from the list on the left.
  3. From the pop-up menu, choose either Disable or a time duration to display each notification.

Format chat text

In the upper-right corner of the Chat pod, click the menu icon , and select any of the following:

  • Text Size: Changes size in your view only.
  • My Chat Color: Changes your text color in the view of all participants, making your remarks stand out.
  • Show Timestamps: For hosts only, displays the date and time of chat entries.

E-mail the contents of a Chat pod

Hosts and presenters can e-mail a chat history for future reference.

  • In the upper-right corner of the Chat pod, click the menu icon , and select E-mail Chat History.

This user guide is protected under copyright law, furnished for informational use only, is subject to change without notice, and should not be construed as a commitment by Adobe Systems Incorporated. Adobe Systems Incorporated assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or inaccuracies that may appear in the informational content contained in this guide. This user guide is licensed for use under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial 3.0 License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/

Edit this page