The Pedro Arrupe SJ Faculty Award for Diversity Leadership is awarded on an annual basis to a faculty member who demonstrates the ideals of diversity, equity and inclusion through teaching, research, and service to the LUC community.

This commitment may be demonstrated through efforts: to recruit, retain, mentor and support diverse faculty and/or students; to perform innovative research that enhances our understanding of diversity and/or highlights inequities and offers insights towards mitigating them; to participate in sustained committee or administrative service that has contributed to and/or advanced the University’s endeavors towards equity and inclusion; to develop department or campus programs that create inclusive environments for underrepresented students, staff and/or faculty; and other significant activities. Diversity is defined broadly, including multiple and intersecting identities (e.g., race, disability, economic background, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, nationality).



All full-time faculty members (TT and NTT) within all disciplines with a minimum of four (4) years of service at Loyola University Chicago are eligible to be nominated for the award.

Administrators with faculty rank are ineligible for faculty awards. Self-nominations will not be considered.


Candidates should be nominated based on diversity, equity and inclusion efforts that exceed their assigned positions. Nominees should also demonstrate and support the Ignatian ideal of care for others, as well as carry out Loyola’s mission and commitment to diversity and inclusion. All members of the Loyola University Chicago community are welcome and encouraged to nominate one or more candidates.


Calls for nominations take place in May and the award recipient is announced and recognized at Faculty Convocation in the fall term.


Pedro Arrupe SJ Faculty Award for Diversity Leadership recipients receive a plaque and an honorarium in the amount of $2000.