Loyola University Chicago

Office of the Provost


Badia Ahad Appointed New Director of the University Core Curriculum

Dear Loyola Community,

We are pleased to announce the appointment of a new Director of the University Core Curriculum, Badia Ahad, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English. As Director, Dr. Ahad will be the academic and administrative leader for the University Core Curriculum, responsible for overseeing and administering all aspects of the Core. Dr. Ahad has been a faculty member in the Department of English since Fall 2005 with a research focus on Contemporary American and African-American literature, the history of psychoanalysis, and Diaspora Studies. She has served the university on a number of levels including as Director of Undergraduate Programs in English, a member of the Department Council and the Africana Studies Program Advisory committee, and the University Senate in which she served as Chair of the Diversity Committee. Her excellence in teaching was honored in 2017 when she was awarded the designation of “Master Teacher” by the College of Arts and Sciences. We are grateful to Dr. Ahad for stepping into this critical University role and leading the University Core Curriculum forward.

We would also like to thank Dr. David Slavsky for his five years of dedicated service to the University Core Curriculum and Loyola’s undergraduate students. During his tenure as Director, Dr. Slavsky supervised the university’s transition to the 2012 Core, worked closely with students and departments to add new diversity-focused courses to the Core Curriculum, helped expand the Core options offered at our international campuses, and provided much support and guidance to students, advisors and faculty on all issues related to Loyola’s Core. We are grateful for his many years of tireless service and championing of the University Core Curriculum.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Ahad in her new role.


Margaret Faut Callahan, CRNA, PhD, FNAP, FAAN
Interim Provost and Chief Academic Officer
Provost, Health Sciences Division
Loyola University Chicago