Criminal Justice Advisory Committee

Criminal Justice Advisory Committee

Loyola University Chicago’s Criminal Justice Program Advisory Committee (PAC) consists of industry leaders and subject matter experts who help the department ensure that real-world concerns are incorporated into its programs, and makes certain that the department creates curricula that continues to meet the changing needs of industry.

Goals of the Program Advisory Committee

The PAC provides ongoing evaluation of and consultation on Loyola’s Criminal Justice curriculum to keep it current with the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and values identified by industry representatives as being necessary for students to learn and use in order to work effectively in their chosen fields. The PAC functions as an integral component of the collegiate structure and process for planning and continuous improvement.  The Program Advisory Committee’s goals are to:

  • Advise on Criminal Justice curriculum
  • Articulate long-term goals and objectives for the program
  • Identify workforce needs and gaps
  • Test program ideas against workforce needs
  • Provide an academic and industry perspective

Committee Members are listed below.



Dean Angelo
Immediate Past President
Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge 7
Javier Alonso
Associate Professor and Chair, Dept. of Criminal Justice
College of Lake County
Art Bilek
Executive Vice President
Chicago Crime Commission
Andrew Boockmeier
Assistant Special Agent in Charge
Social Security Administration, Office of the Inspector General
Gregory Catena
Criminal Justice Program Coordinator
Triton College
 Thomas Dart
Cook County Jail
 Vic Demtschenko
Corporate Investigator
Fifth Third Bank
 Richard Eddington
Chief of Police
City of Evanston
Brent Fischer
Executive Director 
Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board
Chuck Ghiloni
Deputy Director Operations
North East Multi-Regional Training, Inc. 
Ed Grabarek
Former Evidence Technician
Chicago Police Department
James Humenik
Professor and Department Chair, Law Enforcement Program 
Oakton Community College
Eddie Johnson
Chicago Police Department
Kim Karlberg
Professor and Advisor
Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement, Joliet Junior College
Michael Kosanovich
Deputy Inspector General 
Chicago Housing Authority
 Edward Mogul
Professor Emeritus, City Colleges of Chicago
Former President, IL Academy of Criminology
Tom Murray
Chief of Police and Director of Campus Security
Loyola University Chicago
Roy Newton
Deputy Chief
Lombard Police Department
Ray O'Brien
Special Agent
Illinois State Police
John Oleskowicz
Former Special Agent in Charge
United States Department of Justice Office of the Inspector General
Angela Owens
Metropolitan Correctional Center
Cara Smith
Chief Strategist
Cook County Jail 
Melissa Spooner Parise
Deputy Chief Probation Officer
Cook County Juvenile Probation and Court Services
Brett Wisnauski
Algonquin, IL Police Department
Garry Bombard
Forensic Science Program Director
Loyola University Chicago
Jona Goldschmidt
Professor, Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Program Director, Applied Criminal Justice Leadership BA
Loyola University Chicago
Robert Lombardo
Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Loyola University Chicago
Walter Pearson
Dean, School of Continuing and Professional Studies
Loyola University Chicago
Dina Carr
Director of Partnerships, School of Continuing and Professional Studies
Loyola University Chicago

Contact Dina Carr, Director of Partnerships at for further information and questions.