Loyola University Chicago

University Archives & Special Collections



September 5, 2020, marked the 150th anniversary of Loyola University Chicago. Opened on September 5, 1870, as St. Ignatius College on Chicago's west side at 12th and Roosevelt, Loyola has grown to six campuses - two in Chicago (Rogers Park and Water Tower/Gold Coast); the medical campus in Maywood, Illinois;the Cuneo Mansion and Gardens in Vernon Hills, Illinois; the Loyola University Retreat and Ecology Campus in Woodstock, Illinois; and the John Felice Rome Center in Rome, Italy - as well as having a study abroad program in Vietnam. Through the years there have been highs and lows, but Loyola has stayed true to its mission of providing students with a transformative education in the Jesuit tradition.