Loyola University Chicago

University Archives & Special Collections

Loyola University Chicago Presidents 1970-Present

1870-1900                           1900-1970                             


Raymond C. Baumhart, S.J. (1920-)
President, 1970-1993

  • Longest serving president
  • Medical Center becomes nationally recognized for heart transplant surgery; cancer research; kidney and lung transplant surgery; and trauma treatment
  • Mundelein College affiliates with Loyola
  • Mallinckrodt College affiliates with Loyola
  • 31 endowed chairs established
  • School of Dentistry closes
  • 56 Ph.D. areas of concentration available for study at Loyola

John J. Piderit, S.J. (1944-)
President, 1993-2001

  • Loyola Freshman Experience program established
  • Mallinckrodt campus purchased
  • Loyola Medical Center becomes an independent subsidiary of the University

Michael J. Garanzini, S.J. (1948-)
President, 2001-2015

  • 23rd President
  • Loyola becomes largest Jesuit university in U.S.
  • Loyola becomes second largest Catholic university in U.S.
  • Stritch School of Medicine and School of Law celebrate centennials
  • Centennial of the Lake Shore Campus is celebrated
  • Quinlan Life Sciences building, Winthrop dorm, Baumhart Hall, Norville Center for Athletics, and Cuneo Hall built
  • Gentile Center and Madonna della Strada Chapel renovated
  • East Quad built on Lake Shore Campus

John Pelissero, Ph.D.

Interim President, 2015-2016


Jo Ann Rooney, JD, LLM, EdD

President, 2016-

  • 24th President
  • Ist Layperson President
  • 1st Woman President