Loyola University Chicago

College of Arts & Sciences

2019 Sujack Awards

Each year, the Sujack Awards honor College of Arts and Sciences faculty members for their dedication to their profession. Whether they stand out through their teaching inside or outside the classroom, these faculty members are leading by example. This year’s ceremony was held on April 15, 2019. 

The 2019 Sujack winners are as follows:

This year's recipients for the Sujack Family Award for Faculty Research Excellence are Catherine Putonti, Associate Professor, Biology and Computer Science and Ana Rodríguez Navas, Assistant Professor, Modern Languages & Literatures. This recognition provides continued faculty research and covers the costs of data acquisition, summer stipends, and research-related travel expenses.

Putonti, who concentrates her research on computational biology and microbial evolution, which blends traditional bench molecular biology techniques and applied computer science, has been teaching at Loyola for 12 years. As well as being an advocate for women in STEM, Putonti has worked with a team of undergraduate students to author a report in the Journal of Bacteriology.

Rodríguez Navas’ research focuses on a range of languages and their cultures within the field of modern language and literature. Her interests also expands into film, politics, and media studies. In 2018, she published Idle Talk, Deadly Talk: The Uses of Gossip in Caribbean Culture.

The awards for the Edwin T. and Vivijeanne F. Sujack Award for Teaching Excellence have been granted to John Kelly, Professor, Biology, PhD, Èlise Martel Cohen, Lecturer, Sociology, PhD.

Kelly is able to make students in his larger lectures, such as Biology 101, feel as though each student is fully involved with the course due to his unique teaching style. “I believe his support has motivated me to excel in my research. I would not be the student I am today without his mentorship,” said senior Melissa Achettu.

Cohen started teaching at Loyola in the fall of 2008, but has spent time in advertising agencies and labor unions doing strategic research. Her research primarily focuses on sociology of religion, identity, work and occupations, intersections of race, ethnicity, and gender, as well as inequality.

The Master Teacher Award recipients are:

 2019 Master Teachers Award:

  • David Doherty, Associate Professor, Political Science
  • Laura Goldstein, Advanced Lecturer, English
  • Jennifer Mierisch, Associate Professor, Biology
  • Jennifer Zitzner, Advanced Lecturer, Biology

 2019 Master Researchers:  

  • James Garbarino, Professor, Psychology
  • David Ingram, Professor, Philosophy
  • Wei-Tsung Lee, Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Catherine Santiago, Associate Professor, Psychology

For more information about the Sujack Awards, please visit LUC.edu/cas/thesujackawards