Loyola University Chicago

Office of the Chancellor

History of the Office

Upon stepping down from his role as president, Fr. Michael Garanzini, S.J. was appointed chancellor, an honorary role held by only two others in Loyola history. Previous chancellors have been involved in special projects, fundraising and development, and have served as a public face for the University.

Fr. James Maguire, S.J.

Loyola's first chancellor was Fr. James Maguire, S.J., who was appointed to the role when Fr. Raymond Baumhart assumed the presidency in 1970. In 1976, he was named chancellor emeritus until his retirement in 1994.


‌Fr. John H. Reinke, S.J.

In 1975, Fr. John H. Reinke, S.J., who had served as president of Loyola Academy in Wilmette for 10 years, became Loyola University Chicago's second chancellor. Reinke served as chancellor until his retirement in 1986, when he became chancellor emeritus.


Fr. Michael Garanzini, S.J.

Fr. Michael Garanzini, S.J. was appointed Loyola University Chicago's third chancellor in 2015. Garanzini served as Loyola's president from 2001 to 2015. Fr. Garanzini also serves as secretary for higher education for the Society of Jesus.