Loyola University Chicago

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry


  • Dr. Brazdil Receives Award for Excellence in Teaching Freshmen

    Congratulations to Dr. Linda Brazdil on being named the winner of The Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching Freshmen for Fall 2017.
  • Graduate Student Feature: Marie Turano's Conference Experience

    First year graduate student— Marie Turano —takes us through the trip and experience of attending an international conference, and describes the research that led her there.
  • The fight against fentanyl abuse

    Loyola’s James DeFrancesco is helping to create international regulations on the chemicals behind opioid epidemic
  • Chemistry professors will use NSF grant to research sustainable energy sources

    The conducted research will investigate the ADP-glucose pyrophosphorylase and its evolution, which has great potential to be used in the future to improve crops or algae for biofuel production.
  • Organic chemistry professor receives NIH grant

    Hee Yeon Cho, assistant professor of Organic Chemistry, has received a grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for $429,000
  • Faculty

    Dr. Willetta Greene-Johnson: Where Science and Award-Winning Music Meet

    Receiving a PhD is a difficult feat. So is receiving a Grammy. But Loyola Professor Willetta Greene-Johnson can say she has achieved not just one, but both in her lifetime.
  • Recognizing Outstanding Faculty

    Congratulations to Dr. Linda Brazdil on being named a 2015 Fellow by the American Chemical Society (ACS) for her distinguished service to the field of chemistry.
  • Loyola piques high schoolers’ interest in chemistry

    In 1968, the American Chemical Society (ACS) developed Project SEED, a program geared toward economically disadvantaged, high-achieving high school students by providing them with an opportunity to work directly with professional chemists and university professors for a summer.
  • New freshman science research project prepares students for careers

    Loyola students studying science or math will get a chance to start their research earlier than ever. The University’s new First-Year Research Experience allows undergraduate students pursuing STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) degrees a chance to perform exciting research with faculty members as first-year students.
  • Chemistry Professor Awarded for Sustainability Work

    Chemistry Professor Patrick L. Daubenmire has been recognized for his work in bringing sustainability into chemistry classrooms. Dr. Daubenmire is one of four recipients of the 2015 Award for Incorporation of Sustainability into Chemistry Education, a prestigious award from the American Chemical Society and its Committee on Environmental Improvement.
  • Carl Moore Endowed Chair in Chemistry and Biochemistry, Loyola University Chicago

    The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry invites applications for the Carl Moore Endowed Chair beginning fall 2015. Preference is for an appointment at the rank of Professor, although advanced Associate Professors will also be considered for the position.
  • From the Blog

    Chemistry alum leaves lasting legacy

    Loyola University Chicago’s Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry has received its largest single donation from the late Robert R. Otremba (BS ‘49, MS ‘63), a Chicagoan and Loyola alumnus. Mr. Otremba donated more than $2.5 million for the Robert R. Otremba Scholarship Fund, which was officially received by the department in early fall 2012. The scholarship is for undergraduate and graduate students majoring in chemistry and in need of financial assistance.
  • Dr. Daubenmire 2015 recipient of the ACS-CEI Award

    Dr. Patrick Daubenmire's work "Using the chemistry curriculum as the starting point for engaging students and their families in pro-environmental behaviors" has been selected as one of the 2015 ACS-CEI Award winners for Incorporating Sustainability into Chemistry Education sponsored by the American Chemical Society Committee on Environmental Improvement (CEI). The award program seeks to recognize those individuals and organizations that have made exemplary contributions to the incorporation of sustainability into chemical education.
  • Professor profile

    Daubenmire recognized for teaching first-year students

    Patrick Daubenmire is one of four professors who received Loyola’s Excellence in Teaching Freshmen Award. Here, he talks about his love of chemistry and how his Jesuit professors in college inspired him to become a teacher.