Loyola University Chicago

Department of Fine and Performing Arts

Faculty and Staff Directory

Paula Wisotzki, Ph.D.

Title/s:  Professor of Fine Arts in Art History

Office #:  Mundelein 904

Phone: 773.508.8306



Dr. Paula Wisotzki is Professor of Art History in the Department of Fine and Performing Arts at Loyola University Chicago, where she is a member of the graduate faculty and is affiliated with the Women’s Studies and Gender Studies Program.  She also teaches in the College of Arts and Sciences Interdisciplinary Honors Program.

She was named a "Master Teacher" in Loyola's College of Arts and Sciences for 2006-2007.  She is a long-time board member of the Midwest Art History Society and served a term as President of this regional professional organization of academics and museum professionals.  She was an area editor for the Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (5 vols.  Oxford University Press, 2011).  She is co-editor with Helen Langa of American Women Artists, 1935–1970: Gender, Culture and Politics (Ashgate, 2016) and has published articles exploring David Smith’s art through the lens of his political engagement.

Her recent research has focused on Dorothy Dehner’s early career and her 2016 essay “Dorothy Dehner and World War II: Not Just ‘Life on the Farm’” appeared in Archives of American Art Journal.

Having graduated magna cum laude from Lewis and Clark College in her hometown of Portland, Oregon, she earned her Ph.D. at Northwestern University.


Ph.D., Northwestern University

B.A. (magna cum laude), Lewis and Clark College

Research Interests

Modern and Contemporary Art
American Modernism
Women Artists and Feminist Art History
Strategies of Museum Display and Artifact Interpretation

Professional & Community Affiliations

  • Board member and former President, Midwest Art History Society
  • Area editor for the Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (5 vols. Oxford University Press, 2011)
  • Co-edited with Helen Langa for American Women Artists, 1935-1970: Gender, Culture and Politics (Ashgate, 2016)