Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

SOE 2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards

SOE 2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Pictured Left to Right: Corey Winchester, MEd; Chor Ng, MEd; Laura Swanlund, PhD; LeViis Haney, EdD; Rabia Khan Harvey, MEd; Rufus Gonzales, PhD.

In 2014, the School of Education established a new tradition to celebrate and recognize alumni who have made significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments, affiliations, and careers have honored the legacy of excellence in the school. Recipients of this award are accomplished in three distinct areas; professional achievement, service to society and service and support to the School of Education.

The faculty from each program area had the opportunity to select a recipient. Awardees were recognized at the Fall Alumni Brunch in November. We anticipate this becoming an annual tradition at the fall alumni reception.

This year’s recipients are: (click on each name for the full citation)

2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients
Administration and Supervision  LeViis Haney, EdD 2011
Counseling  Rufus Gonzales, PhD 2006
Cultural and Educational Policy Studies  Corey Winchester, MEd 2013
Higher Education  Rabia Khan Harvey, MEd 2001
School Psychology  Laura Swanlund, PhD 2010
Teaching and Learning  Chor Ng, MEd 1998

Photo Slide of Reception

Criteria & Nomination Process (except for Higher Education)

Criteria & Nomination Process for Higher Education