Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

2016 Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Research: Amy Heineke, Ph.D.

2016 Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Research:  Amy Heineke, Ph.D.

The School of Education Awards Committee is pleased to award the School of Education Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Research to Dr. Amy Heineke, faculty member in the Teaching, Learning, and Leading with Schools and Communities Program. This annual award seeks to recognize, encourage, and reward outstanding scholarship within the School of Education of Loyola University Chicago.

Dr. Heineke is an Associate Professor in the School of Education. Her research and scholarship have had a substantial and sustained impact on teaching practices and policies involving linguistic minorities and English Learners (ELs). Since arriving at Loyola University Chicago, Dr. Heineke has published 22 journal articles and six book chapters. While many of her articles focus on best practices for educators to be linguistically and culturally responsive, Dr. Heineke has also published important articles that analyze policy implications for linguistically diverse students, such as English-only legislation.

Dr. Heineke has also been the principle investigators on over a million dollars of grants over the past five years and is a highly sought out presenter at professional conferences. Despite her extensive scholarly activities, Dr. Heineke also works with local school districts to examine their bilingual education practices and policies so that policy makers are fully informed about current knowledge on best practices in bilingual education.

Dr. Heineke is a model scholar who infuses the Jesuit ideal of social justice in all of her research. She embraces the role of scholar-advocate, constantly aiming to merge scholarship and policy, using her research to promote educational equity and meaningful and positive changes to practices and policies. For these reasons and more, Dr. Amy Heineke is the 2016 recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Research.