Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

2018 Weekend of Excellence Research Symposium & Awards Dinner

2018 Weekend of Excellence Research Symposium & Awards Dinner

Pictured from left: Shanté Elliott (Service award—Cultural and Educational Policy Studies), Cobretti Williams (Transformative Education award—Higher Education), Rebecca Harkema (Research award—Curriculum and Instruction), Plamena Daskalova (Transformative Education award—Counseling Psychology), and Jenna Nelson (Research award—Curriculum and Instruction)

On April 19, 2018, the School of Education (SOE) kicked off the Weekend of Excellence at Loyola University Chicago with a research symposium and awards dinner in Kasbeer Hall on the Water Tower Campus. In addition to poster sharing, SOE School Psychology professor and 2018 recipient of the “Outstanding Contributions to Training" national teaching award,  David Shriberg, delivered an outstanding keynote regarding putting social justice into action through our work in education and in our daily lives. This annual event is coordinated through the Student Development Committee (SDC) in the SOE.

Applications for awards are open to students in every program within the SOE. From all the submitted applications, a maximum of five current students are selected to receive special accolades in the areas of outstanding research, teaching, and service. Five students were celebrated this year for their outstanding accomplishments in the three areas. Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients and nominees. The applications were all very strong and each exemplified how effective SOE students are at putting education theory into practice. It was an impressive pool, and everyone did a spectacular job of demonstrating what incredible educational professionals they are becoming.

Members of the 2017-18 SDC who presented awards at the event included Brad MacDonald and Salena Ibrahim (Teaching & Learning), Sydney Curtis (Higher Education), Sarah Galvin (Counseling), and Jana Grabarek (Research Methodology). Not present were Melissa Hendler (Administration & Supervision), Scott Zwolski (School Psychology), and Jacob Del Dotto (Cultural & Educational Policy Studies).

Pictured from left are: Professor Dave Shriberg, Jana Grabarek, Cobretti Williams, Shanté Elliott, Salena Ibrahim, Rebecca Harkema, Brad MacDonald, Plamena Daskalova, Sydney Curtis, Jenna Nelson, and Sarah Galvin