Loyola University Chicago

School of Education

Alumni recognized for achievements, service, and support

Alumni recognized for achievements, service, and support

Pictured Left to Right: Janet Pierce-Ritter, PhD (Associate Dean) Marian Allen Claffey, PhD (Associate Provost for Academic Affairs), Terri Pigott, PhD (Dean), Ann Marie Ryan, PhD (Program Chair, Teaching and Learning), Beth Burkhart, MEd Noah Sobe, PhD (Program Chair, Cultural and Educational Policy Studies) and Bruce Collet, PhD. (Missing: Karen O'Brien, PhD and Kathy Pluymert, PhD)

In 2014, the School of Education established a new tradition to celebrate and recognize alumni who have made significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments, affiliations, and careers have honored the legacy of excellence in the school. Recipients of this award are accomplished in three distinct areas; professional achievement, service to society and service and support to the School of Education.

The faculty from each program area had the opportunity to select a recipient. Awardees were recognized at the Fall Alumni Brunch in November. We anticipate this becoming an annual tradition at the fall alumni reception.

This year’s recipients are: (click on each name for the full citation)

2014 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients
Counseling Karen O’Brien, PhD 1993
Cultural and Educational Policy Studies Bruce Collet, PhD 2006
Higher Education Marian Allen Claffey, PhD 2008
School Psychology Kathy Pluymert, PhD 2000
Teaching and Learning Beth Burkhart, MEd 2005

Criteria & Nomination Process (except for Higher Education)

Criteria & Nomination Process for Higher Education