Loyola University Chicago

Department of English


The English department has been blessed with generous benefactors over the years. Faculty, students and friends of the department have established scholarships, fellowships and endowments, often in the name of a teacher who inspired and advised them when they were students at the university.

We are deeply grateful for their support, and wish to share with others the stories that lie behind their individual acts of kindness.

In many cases, additional donations can be made to supplement these endowments. New funds can also be established at any time, subject to certain legal and fiscal restrictions. Anyone interested in making a donation of any size should contact the department chair.

Undergraduate Scholarships

The English department currently offers two undergraduate scholarships annually, one of which is the McNeill-Donohue Scholarships. Faculty members nominate their best sophomores and juniors majoring in English. Nominees write application essays, explaining their interests and long-term plans. A faculty committee selects the two strongest candidates. Recipients must remain English majors, must join the English Honors Program, must maintain a minimum GPA in the major and must write letters to the donor's family.

Additionally, students with excellent academic records and demonstrated financial need may also be eligible for the Dr. Thomas Richard Gorman Scholarship in English.

For more information about scholarships and other funding opportunities, visit the Office of Student Financial Assistance.

Graduation Prizes

The department currently offers five "named" prizes for graduating seniors. 

The Martin Svaglic Prize: In Dr. Svaglic's memory, the English department awards a prize annually to a graduating senior who has excelled in his or her English studies.  Graduating seniors are nominated by members of the faculty.

The Fr. Edward L. Surtz, S.J., Prize: The Surtz Prize is given each year to a graduating senior who has excelled as a student and scholar of English literature. It is regarded as the premier prize awarded to undergraduates by the department. Members of the faculty nominate students for this award, which is presented at the Spring Honors Convocation.

The Gerrietts Prize is given each year to a graduating senior who has excelled in creative writing (specializing either in fiction or in poetry).

The Charles W. Hart Prize is given each year to a graduating senior who has excelled as a student of literature.

The James Charles Cox Memorial Award is to be given annually to a graduating major who shows "excellence in the major field and also exhibits the personal traits of gentleness, kindness, honesty, charity, and leadership."  


Graduate Fellowships

The department admits both MA and PhD students. PhD students are eligible for four-year graduate assistantships funded by the Graduate School.

For MA students, we offer, on a competitive basis, a limited number of partial tuition scholarships. Enrolled students are also eligible to apply for other funding opportunities through the Graduate School, such as research fellowships and community steward awards.

The first Kathleen Toomey/Fr. Edward L. Surtz Graduate Fellowship was awarded in 2001, a fellowship that is tenable for up to four years.

Graduate Prizes

The department offers one prize annually, the Clayes Graduate Essay Prize, for the best essay written by a student in a graduate course during the preceding year.

The Gravett-Tuma Book Prize is awarded to an outstanding graduate student. Gravett-Tuma Research Awards may also be awarded to support graduate dissertation research.

Other Endowments

The Martin J. Svaglic Endowment supports public events programming, faculty travel for research purposes, and funding for the undergraduate prize books mentioned above.

The Robertson-Stratman-Young Endowment provides general support for faculty members' research needs. In Fr. Stratman's and Dr. James J. Young's honor, Dr. Henry A. Robertson, Jr., established this fund to make small grants to faculty to defray research expenses not routinely covered by the university, enabling projects to move forward smoothly and rapidly.