Loyola University Chicago

Academic Internships

Center for Experiential Learning

Internship Contacts by Department and School

Contacting a Faculty Member

Your first step in pursuing an academic internship is contacting the internships coordinator in your major. They will be able to tell you if your department offers academic credit for internships, and what specific classes you can take to get this credit. 

If your major is listed below, please contact the faculty member directly to begin your academic internship journey. However, if your major is not listed below, contact us at the Center for Experiential Learning!

List of Contact Information (By School Major)

African Studies & the African Diaspora offers an academic internship course AFR397 Capstone/Internship in African Studies and the African Diaspora. 

For more information about this internship course, please contact Brian Endless at bendles@luc.edu

Anthropology offers an academic internship ANTH396 through the senior capstone experience. For more information, visit the Capstone Experience page. 

For further information on academic internships in Anthropology contact Anne Grauer at agrauer@luc.edu or Catherine Nichols (Museum Studies) at cnichols@luc.edu

Biology offers an academic internship experience through the class BIOL 398. To register for this class, students must fill out this form

If you are interning with the Hospitalist Program at the University of Chicago, please contact Dr. Bryan Pickett at fpicket@luc.edu.

For general inquiries about academic internships in Biology, please contact Dr. Jim Cheverud at jcheverud@luc.edu

Bioinformatics offers an internship experience through the class BIOI 398. Students must complete 3 credit hours to receive Engaged Learning credit.

For more information, visit the Bioinformatics Careers and Internship page: http://luc.edu/bioinformatics/careers/

 

For further information on academic internships in Bioinformatics, contact Dr. Catherine Putonti at cputonti@luc.edu.

Please contact Aminatu Rubango, Assistant Director of BCS, Career Education at nrubango@luc.edu. Or, visit the internships site to get more insight on the Quinlan School of Business academic internship courses and prerequisites. 

The School of Communication offers various academic internship opportunities. To learn more, visit the School of Communications internships resource page. 

 

Computer Science offers an academic internship course, COMP 391.

For further information on academic internships in Computer Science, contact Robert Yacobellis at ryacobellis@luc.edu.

Criminal Justice offers academic internship experiences within areas of corrections, courts, investigations, law enforcement, public defender, research and even victim witness advocacy. All of these internships fall under the course CRMJ 390 which is the Criminal Justice Field Practicum. For more information on eligibility, procedures and responsibilities of this course, visit the Department of Criminal Justice internship program site

For further information on academic internships in Criminal Justice and criminology, contact Jona Goldschmidt at jgoldsc@luc.edu.

The School of Education offers ELPS 265 as an academic internship course. Students focus on Cultural and Educational Policy Studies.

English offers two academic internship experiences in English through ENGL 394 and an Internship in Adult Literacy through ENGL 393 based within the Literacy Center at Loyola University Chicago. More information on the Literacy Center can be found here:  http://www.luc.edu/literacy/. For more information on these two courses, visit the Department of English internships site.

For further information on ENGL 393, contact Jacqueline Heckman at 773.508.2330 or jheckma@luc.edu. For ENGL 394, contact Jasper Cragwall at jcragwall@luc.edu.

Information on academic internships in Environmental Science can be found on the ENVS 395 website here: http://www.luc.edu/sustainability/academics/envs395internshipcourse/.

For information on academic internships in Environmental Studies, contact Christopher Peterson at cpeters@luc.edu

Information on academic internships in Dance can be found on the DANC 394 website here

Information on Fine Arts Academic Internships, FNAR 368: Gallery Internships or FNAR 380/FNAR 381 Visual Communication can be found here.

Information on academic internships in Theater, THTR 494 can be found here.

For information on academic internships in Forensics, contact Garry Bombard at gbombar@luc.edu

French offers FREN 395 as an academic internship course.

For further information on French academic internships, contact Lisa Erceg at lerceg@luc.edu.

Global & International Studies offers an academic internships course, GIST 370, Internship in International Studies. For more information, click here.

For further information on academic internships in International Studies, contact Chris Hasselmann at chasselmann@luc.edu.

History offers academic internship experiences through the course HIST 398, the History Undergraduate Internship Program. For step by step information on applying, and specific internships offered through this program, visit the Department of History's internship program site

For further information on academic internship, contact Kyle Roberts at kroberts2@luc.edu

For information about academic internships in the Honors Program visit their page, or contact Claudio Katz at ckatz@luc.edu

For information on academic internships in Human Services, contact Layla Suleiman Gonzalez at lsuleiman@luc.edu

Italian offers an academic internship course, ITAL 395 both in Chicago and on the Rome Campus. Students work 4-8 hours per week.

Exercise Science offers EXCM 395 as the required academic internship course.  For more information about the course contact SONExperiential@luc.edu
 
Health Systems Management offers HSM 360 as the required academic internship course. For more information about the course contact SONExperiential@luc.edu.

Music offers MUSC 394 as an academic internship course. Students complete a minimum of 50 hours of internship experience.

For information on academic internships in Polish Studies, contact Bozena McLees at bmclees@luc.edu.

Political Science offers an academic internship experiences through the course PLSC 370. Permission is need to register. For more information visit the Department of Political Science's course site

For further information regarding academic internships in Political Science, contact Alex Grigorescu at agrigorescu@luc.edu

Psychology offers PSYC 390 as an academic internship course. To register for this course, students must apply for PSYC 390 the semester before they plan to take it. To learn more about the course and requirements, please visit the Department of Psychology's internship site.

For further information on academic internships in Psychology, contact Colleen Conley at cconley@luc.edu or Maryse Richards at mrichar@luc.edu.

For more information about field work in Social Work, visit their page, or contact James Fogerty at jfogert@luc.edu, or Hilary Gilway at hgilway@luc.edu

Sociology offers an academic internship experience through SOCI 380. For more information on this course, visit the internships page on the Department of Sociology website. 

For further information regarding academic internships in Sociology, contact Marilyn Krogh at mkrogh@luc.edu

Spanish offers SPAN395 as an academic internship course. Students gain practical experience in reading and writing Spanish.

For more information, contact Dr. Susana Cavallo at scavall@luc.edu.

For information on academic internships in Theatre, visit their page or contact Mark Lococo at mlococo@luc.edu

For information on academic internships in Theology, visit their page or contact Chris Murphy at cmurph3@luc.edu

Women's Studies and Gender Studies offer academic internships through different programs available in the area. For more information, feel free to visit their internships page

For further information regarding academic internships in Women's Studies and Gender Studies, contact Bren Ortega Murphy at bmurphy@luc.edu

For further information, please contact:

Cynthia P. Stewart, PhD
Assistant Director, Center for Experiential Learning
Academic Internships
Loyola University Chicago
Phone: 773.508.6090
cstewart8@luc.edu