Loyola University Chicago

Center for Experiential Learning

Langerbeck Faculty Research Mentor Award


Sr. Mary Therese Langerbeck, BVM, teaching physics to two Mundelein College students, Patricia Bozis and Evelyn Berg, 1960.

Mary Therese Langerbeck, BVM

The award is named for Sister Mary Therese Langerbeck, Ph.D., BVM (Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary). From 1936-1971, first as faculty and later as Chair of Mundelein College’s Physics Department, Langerbeck trained hundreds of women for careers in the sciences through active engagement in research. Mundelein College and Loyola University’s physics departments joined in 1971. The Langerbeck Award recognizes faculty who show extraordinary success in providing intensive individual research experiences for undergraduate students.

To learn more about Mary Therese Langerbeck or Mundelein College, please visit the Women and Leadership Archives https://www.luc.edu/wla/

The Langerbeck Award for Undergraduate Research Mentoring has been established to recognize and reward the exceptional work of Loyola’s faculty mentors who are contributing significant time and effort to the intellectual, ethical, and academic development of Loyola’s undergraduate researchers by mentoring their research endeavors.

Each year, LUROP will grant two awards, selected from a pool of student nominations. Faculty selected for the award will receive $2,000, through sponsorship from the Office of the Provost and the Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy. The award is meant to support the mentors' research and support of undergraduates.

Applications for 2018–2019 will be reviewed by a committee of LUROP fellowship directors and previous faculty mentor award winners. Langerbeck winners will be announced at the reception following the 2019 Undergraduate Research & Engagement Symposium on Saturday, April 13th.

Award Details

  • Nominations can come from current student researchers only.
  • Annual awards, open to faculty who serve as the primary mentor to the student. External community partners or researchers are not eligible.
  • A mentor can win the award only once every 5 years.
  • After a student submits a nomination, the mentor will be asked to submit a brief (1 page max.) reflection on their mentoring theory, practice, and impact. Faculty who receive more than one nomination should submit only one statement.


  • Student nominations for 2018–2019 will be due Monday, March 18th using the form embedded below. 
  • Faculty reflection statements are due by noon on Tuesday, April 5th. Nominated faculty will receive a request and directions for a statement after initial nominations are received.

For more information on the Faculty Teaching Awards, please visit the Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy.