Loyola University Chicago

Center for Experiential Learning

Langerbeck Faculty Research Mentor Award


Mary Therese Langerbeck, BVM

The award is named for Mary Therese Langerbeck, BVM, who trained hundreds of women for careers in the sciences through active engagement in research. As chair of the physics department, she supervised the installation of a Foucault pendulum for the use by students. The Langerbeck Award recognizes faculty who show extraordinary success in providing intensive individual research experiences for undergraduate students.

The Langerbeck Award for Undergraduate Research Mentoring has been established to recognize and reward the exceptional work of Loyola’s faculty mentors who are contributing significant time and effort to the intellectual, ethical, and academic development of Loyola’s undergraduate researchers by mentoring their research endeavors.

Each year, LUROP will grant two awards, selected from a pool of student nominations. Faculty selected for the award will receive $2,000, through sponsorship from the Office of the Provost and the Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy. The award is meant to support the mentors' research and support of undergraduates.

Applications for 2017–2018 will be reviewed by a committee of LUROP fellowship directors and previous faculty mentor award winners. Langerbeck winners will be announced at the reception following the 2018 Undergraduate Research & Engagement Symposium on Saturday, April 21st.

Award Details

  • Nominations can come from current student researchers only.
  • Annual awards, open to faculty who serve as the primary mentor to the student. External community partners or researchers are not eligible.
  • A mentor can win the award only once every 5 years.
  • After a student submits a nomination, the mentor will be asked to submit a brief (1 page max.) reflection on their mentoring theory, practice, and impact. Faculty who receive more than one nomination should submit only one statement.


  • Student nominations for 2017–2018 will be due Sunday, March 25th. Students, please fill out this 2018 Langerbeck Nomination Form in its entirety and e-mail to lurop@luc.edu.
  • Faculty reflection statements are due by noon on Wednesday, April 4th. Nominated faculty will receive a request and directions for a statement after initial nominations are received.

For more information on the Faculty Teaching Awards, please visit the Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy.