Loyola University Chicago

Faculty Council

Remarks by Peter Schraeder, Concerning 2009 Award Winner


One of the greatest honors that I have in my role as Faculty Council President is to present the Faculty Member of the Year Award.

Faculty members can be nominated by all ten of Loyola's schools and colleges, finalists are selected by an awards committee of Faculty Council, and the final selection is approved by the entire elected membership of Faculty Council.

This year the awards committee reviewed eight finalists, and were impressed with the outstanding work done by so many of our colleagues.

However, there can only be one winner, and this year the committee unanimously recommended that Professor Diane Geraghty, who is the Kathleen Beazley Chair in Child Law, be honored as the 2009 Faculty Member of the Year.

Since joining Loyola's School of Law more than 30 years ago, Professor Geraghty's impressive research has focused on the areas of children's rights, child protection, and juvenile justice. This research has been funded from a variety of sources, ranging from the MacArthur Foundation to the United Nations Children's Fund. 

Professor Geraghty is also the founder and director of Loyola's highly acclaimed Child Law Center, which combines research and advocacy for children's rights both in the United States and globally. She is the recipient of numerous awards, such as the Leonard Jay Schager Award from the Chicago Bar Association. Professor Geraghty is also a highly accomplished teacher. 

Her students praise her ability to make confusing information clear, to make complex legal issues understandable, and most important, to recognize and nurture the intellectual qualities of each individual student. 

The totality of Professor Geraghty's accomplishments is nicely captured in a supporting note written by the Dean of the Law School, Nina Appel, who wrote that Professor Geraghty has "always served the University, the legal community, and above all else, her students with enormous dedication and true commitment." She is without question a faculty member who deserves to be recognized for her outstanding achievements in scholarship, advocacy, teaching, and service. 

On behalf of the Faculty Council and all of her colleagues, it is my pleasure to publicly recognize Professor Diane Geraghty as Loyola's 2009 Faculty Member of the Year, which includes this beautiful plaque and, perhaps even better, a check for $2,000.

Congratulations again, Diane.