Loyola University Chicago

Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy

Teaching Awards

Loyola University Chicago values excellence in teaching as being central to our mission of providing an engaging, transformative education. Acknowledging this essential part of our university mission, the Office of the Provost would like to formally recognize and celebrate the exceptional faculty who demonstrate excellence in teaching. Because effective teaching can be accomplished through different approaches, the Office of the Provost has instituted a series of university-wide teaching awards that recognize the value of the many different ways in which our faculty contribute to transformative learning. Below is a description of the new University-wide Teaching Awards that will be presented by the Office of the Provost and the Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy.

Ignatius Loyola Award for Excellence in Teaching  

This prestigious award is named for Ignatius of Loyola, founder of the Jesuit order and patron saint of our University. St. Ignatius Loyola’s commitment to education was born out of a belief that society could be changed for the betterment of all if future leaders were provided a rigorous curriculum based in ethics and the humanities. The Loyola Award recognizes faculty whose teaching involves a commitment to excellence, raises global awareness, promotes social justice and educates the whole student. The award honors the faculty member who embodies excellence in all aspects of teaching, including advising/mentoring, teaching to mission and engaging students in their learning.

The Ignatius Loyola Award is presented at the Faculty Convocation each fall.

Peter Hans Kolvenbach Award for Engaged Teaching  

This award is named for the 29th Superior General of the Society of Jesus who stated: “Students, in the course of their formation, must let the gritty reality of this world into their lives, so they can learn to feel it, think about it critically, respond to its suffering and engage it constructively. They should learn to perceive, think, judge, choose and act for the rights of others, especially the disadvantaged and the oppressed.” The Kolvenbach Award recognizes faculty who promote active and collaborative learning, through a variety of hands-on, service learning, and outreach experiences that encourage students to apply classroom theory to real life situations.

The Peter Hans Kolvenbach Award will be presented at the January Focus on Teaching & Learning event, starting in January 2016.

Alice B. Hayes Award for Advising and Mentoring  

The advising and mentoring award is named for Alice Bourke Hayes, whose career at Loyola University Chicago spanned 27 years. In her long career at Loyola, Dr. Hayes served as Professor of Biology, Chairperson of the Department of Natural Sciences, Dean for the Natural Sciences and Vice President for Academic Affairs. As an administrator and faculty member, Dr. Hayes impacted the lives of thousands of Loyola students through serving as an advisor, mentor and friend. The Alice B. Hayes Award recognizes faculty who demonstrate a commitment to advising and mentoring students within and outside the classroom. Excellent faculty mentors are involved in helping students discover their passions, develop a dedication to life-long learning, and guiding students’ intellectual, personal, social and spiritual growth.

The Alice B. Hayes Award is awarded at the Weekend of Excellence.

Mary Therese Langerbeck Award for Undergraduate Research Mentoring

Named for Mary Therese Langerbeck, BVM, who trained hundreds of women for careers in the sciences through active engagement in research. As chair of the physics department, she supervised the installation of a Foucault pendulum for the use by students. The Mary Therese Langerbeck Award recognizes faculty who show extraordinary success in providing intensive individual research experiences for undergraduate students.

Two Mary Therese Langerbeck Langerbeck Awards are presented at the Weekend of Excellence.

The Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching Freshmen  

The Provost’s Award recognizes faculty who build community with first-year students by teaching 100-level freshmen classes. Exemplary faculty foster cura personalis (care of the whole person) in new students by providing necessary support and challenging them to become fully integrated into the Loyola community.

The awardees are recognized at the fall Focus on Teaching & Learning event.