Loyola University Chicago

Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy

Teaching Award Descriptions

Below are descriptions of the University-wide Teaching Awards presented by the Office of the Provost and the Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy. All awards (except the Mary Therese Langerbeck Award for Undergraduate Research Mentoring) will be awarded at the Annual Teaching Awards Ceremony in May 2022. The Langerbeck award is will be announced during the 2022 Undergraduate Research & Engagement Symposium.

This prestigious award is named for Ignatius of Loyola, founder of the Jesuit order and patron saint of our University. St. Ignatius Loyola’s commitment to education was born out of a belief that society could be changed for the betterment of all if future leaders were provided a rigorous curriculum based in ethics and the humanities. The Loyola Award recognizes faculty whose teaching involves a commitment to excellence, raises global awareness, promotes social justice and educates the whole student. The award honors the faculty member who embodies excellence in all aspects of teaching, including advising/mentoring, teaching to mission and engaging students in their learning. 

The Provost’s Award recognizes faculty who build community with first-year students by teaching 100-level freshmen classes. Exemplary faculty foster cura personalis (care of the whole person) in new students by providing necessary support and challenging them to become fully integrated into the Loyola community. 

This award is named for the 29th Superior General of the Society of Jesus and recognizes faculty who promote active and collaborative learning through a variety of hands-on, service learning, and outreach experiences that encourage students to apply classroom theory to real life situations. 

This advising and mentoring award is named for Alice Bourke Hayes, whose career at Loyola University Chicago spanned 27 years. As an administrator and faculty member, Dr. Hayes impacted the lives of thousands of Loyola students through serving as an advisor, mentor and friend. The Alice B. Hayes Award recognizes faculty who demonstrate a commitment to advising and mentoring students within and outside the classroom. Excellent faculty mentors are involved in helping students discover their passions, develop a dedication to life-long learning, and guiding students’ intellectual, personal, social and spiritual growth. 

This award is named for Mary Therese Langerbeck, BVM, who trained hundreds of women for careers in the sciences through active engagement in research. As chair of the physics department, she supervised the installation of a Foucault pendulum for the use by students. The Mary Therese Langerbeck Award recognizes faculty who show extraordinary success in providing intensive individual research experiences for undergraduate students. Two Mary Therese Langerbeck Awards are presented at the Weekend of Excellence. This award is facilitated by the Center for Engaged Learning, Teaching, and Scholarship (CELTS). Nomination info can be found on their website

In April 2021, after an overwhelming demand on the part of students and faculty colleagues to recognize the great teaching of Loyola’s part-time instructors, FCIP called together a working group of 10 part-time Loyola instructors to create the criteria for such an award. The Teaching Award for Part-time Instructors presents an opportunity to elevate and celebrate the importance of excellence among Loyola’s part-time instructors. 

This award recognizes the unique and excellent contributions of part-time instructors who: 

  • answer a call to be teacher-practitioners and role models in their field;  
  • demonstrate a commitment to going ‘above and beyond’ to persevere through obstacles and exceed expectations to meet the needs of their students;  
  • deeply care about and forge connections with their students; and 
  • embody the Jesuit ideals of mission, community and service.