Loyola University Chicago

Department of History


History Faculty Honored for Teaching and Research

The arrival of Spring brings a wealth of honors to the History Department faculty.

Professor Steven Schloesser, S.J. was named recipient of the Sujack Family Award for Excellence in Faculty Research for 2015 and Professor Suzanne Kaufman was named a Master Teacher in the College of Arts and Sciences. This is the second year in a row that History Department faculty won the Sujack Awared and were named a Master Teacher.

Professors Schloesser and Kaufman will be honored at the Sujack Awards Ceremony on April 21 at 4:15 PM in Coffey Hall, McCormick Lounge. All are welcome to attend and join the History Department in congratulating Professors Kaufman and Schloesser on their achievements!

Professor Ted Karamanski and Professor Eileen McMahon of Lewis University (Ph.D. Loyola, 1989), authors of Civil War Chicago: Eyewitness to History (Athens: Ohio University Press, 2014), will be awarded the Russell P. Strange Book of the Year Award by the Illinois State Historical Society. They will receive the award at a ceremony at the Illinois State Capitol on April 25. Congratulations Professors Karamanski and McMahon!