Loyola University Chicago

Human Resources

2019 Holiday Closure

In celebration of the upcoming Christmas and New Year’s Holiday Season, we would like to remind you that Loyola University Chicago will close for the holidays at the end of the day on Friday, December 20, and will remain closed December 23 through January 1. 

You will receive full pay during this period for University Observed Holidays and University Closure Days. You will not be required to use any accrued vacation or personal days during this period. However, any additional paid time-off will require the use of personal time as outlined below.

University Observed Holidays during this period

  • Monday, December 23
  • Tuesday, December 24
  • Wednesday, December 25
  • Tuesday, December 31
  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020

University Closure Days Gifted to Faculty and Staff Members

  • Monday, December 23
  • Thursday, December 26
  • Friday, December 27
  • Monday, December 30

Personal paid time-off (i.e. vacation accrual and/or personal days) will be required for additional time off scheduled on the following dates:

  • Thursday, January 2, 2020
  • Friday, January 3, 2020

As in previous years, we know that some staff members will be needed on campus to provide support during this week-long closure. To those employees, thank you for your commitment. Please know that your department managers will work directly with you to ensure that you are able to take advantage of this gifted time 45 days before or after the closure. We are also asking all department heads to prepare plans for their area to ensure that critical business functions continue during this week and are handled remotely, if possible.

Please ensure that your Kronos Time Card reflects the correct information for the official closure days. Within the Pay Code section, there should be a "Closure" option within the menu selection. Questions? Please contact Human Resources at 312-915-6175.