Loyola University Chicago

School of Law

Public Interest Law Society (PILS)

Faculty Advisor: Mary Bird

2017-2018 Executive Board

President: Jalyn Mitchell – jmitchell4@luc.edu

Vice President: Ian Stukel-Fallon – istukelfallon@luc.edu

Development Chair: Brian Gibbons – bgibbons@luc.edu

Community Chairs: Carrie Seleman – cseleman@luc.edu & Candice Dundy – cdundy@luc.edu

Publicity Chair: Maha Sadek – msadek1@luc.edu

Fundraising Chairs: Priya Thennarasu – pthennarasu@luc.edu & Jennifer Zmyslo – jzmyslo@luc.edu

The Public Interest Law Society (PILS) is the largest and most active of all Loyola's student organizations. PILS was founded to bring an awareness of the continuing need for legal services in the service of the disadvantaged and to support the aspirations of those who seek careers in public interest law.

PILS organizes events throughout the year to educate the community about public service. The organization also engages in fundraising activities for non-for-profit organizations servicing the community, and more specifically, the disadvantaged. PILS activities include a wide range of educational and social events, culminating in the annual Public Service Auction - the Law School's premier social and fund-raising event - which raises thousands of dollars to support the summer jobs of Loyola law students who work in otherwise unpaid public interest law positions.

Members of PILS support and participate in the editing and production of Loyola's Public Interest Law Reporter.

PILS Facebook Page