Loyola’s Vis Moot Fellows

Loyola’s Vis Moot Fellows

Good luck to Loyola’s Vis Moot Fellows

Students selected for the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot have the opportunity to study alternative dispute resolution in the context of international law, based on problems involving the interpretation of the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. The Vis competitions take place each spring at in Vienna, Austria, and in Hong Kong.  Only students who enroll in the International Commercial Arbitration and the CISG course in the fall semester may try out for the teams.

Good luck to Loyola’s 2017 Vis Moot teams!

Willem C. Vis (East) Hong Kong – March 25-April 2
*Payal Patel, Teresa Dettloff, James Kearney and Stephen Fleischer

*Loyola team members competed against 27 teams from 12 countries to win the Moot Shanghai 2017 and 3 honorable mention awards. The Moot Shanghai is held a week before the official commencement of the Willem C. Vis East International Commercial Arbitration.

Willem C. Vis Vienna – April 7-13
Julia Alberts, Lisa Besendorfer, Alison Davis, and Kara Smith

Loyola law students who are interested in participating in the 2017-18 Vis Moot Program and wish to compete in either Vienna or Hong Kong, must take International Commercial Arbitration and the CISG during the fall semester 2017Sixteen students will be admitted to the course. At the end of the semester, eight students will be chosen as Vis Moot Fellows—four students will compete in the international moot arbitration competition in Vienna, and four will compete in Hong Kong.

To be considered for the class, please email a statement of interest and a resume to Professor Margaret Moses, mmoses1@luc.edu. You must send the statement of interest and resume by April 17, 2017. Because students are not selected for the course until the end of April, you should register for a full course load and be prepared to drop a course if you are selected for admission to the arbitration class.

Please note:  Students who are recipients of the Corboy Fellowship or a member of a mock trial or moot court teams that compete in the fall or spring semesters are not eligible for the course.