Loyola University Chicago


Loyola Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program • Center for Experiential Learning

2019 Research & Engagement Award Winners

2018-2019 Research & Engagement Awards

Thank you for celebrating the scholarship and work of our faculty, community partners, and students over the course of the 2018-2019 academic year!

You can find a full list of the 2019 Award Winners below.

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award Winners

Isabelle Taylor

DANC 398: Undergraduate Research in Dance
Amy Wilkinson

Isabelle Taylor is a dance major who choreographed an original piece of choreography entitled Five Herstories, which involved a performative research paradigm with choreographic process or “dancemaking” serving as the primary research methodology.

Lejla Alibasic

Provost Fellowship
Dr. Tavis D. Jules

Lejla Alibasic's research explores the relationship between Tunisia and France, specifically how French foreign policy and diction from French officials changed before, during, and after the Arab Spring, through the lens of path dependence theory.

Andy Soto

Provost Fellowship
Dr. Tavis D. Jules

Andy Soto utilized sociological inquiry to explore the role that foreign aid plays in the globalization of norms and models, and his research focuses on the bilateral relationship between the United States and Tunisia following the Jasmine Revolution.

Kiana King

Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital
Dr. Jaimie Burgess

Kiana King worked as a Research Assistant within the department of Orthopedic Surgery and Sports Medicine at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital, with her primary research interest falling within sports medicine within the pediatric population and her current project focuses on patient referrals to additional services.

Taylor Miller-Ensminger

Carbon Research Fellowship
Dr. Catherine Putonti

Taylor Miller-Ensminger focused on the presence of phages (viruses that infect bacteria) in the urinary tract and their potential role in urinary health, which will help us to better understand why women are so prone to UTI and how we can better regulate the microbiome to their benefit.

Barbara Szynal

Mulcahy Scholars Program
Dr. Ken Olsen

Barbara Szynal’s research  involves the synthesis and testing of new photodynamic therapy agents, in which she has investigated a wide variety of new science and worked with collaborators on this interdisciplinary project.

Danielle Talbot

Mulcahy Scholars Program
Dr. Jennifer Mierisch

Danielle Talbot studied genetic regulation of cell-cell interactions in two developmental contexts: the nervous system and the reproductive system of Drosophila, working to elucidate the importance of the respective genes on the development and function of each system.

Loyola University Libraries Undergraduate Research Paper Award

First Place

Luselena Perez
BIOL 399: Independent Study with Dr. Jennifer Mierisch

The role of raw in the Development of Glia in the Nervous System of Drosophila melanogaster

Second Place

Matthew Gallagher
Classical Studies 381: Directed Readings with Dr. Leanna Boychenko

Ἄνδρα Μοι Ἔννεπε, Μοῦσα: Tell Me About Men and Masculinities in the Odyssey

Mary Therese Langerbeck Award for Undergraduate Research Mentoring

Dr. Jenna Drenten
Quinlan School of Business

Dr. Tham Hoang
Instistute of Environmental Sustainability

Graduate Student Mentor Award

Jaina Bhayani
Chemistry and Biochemistry

Alice B. Hayes Award for Advising and Mentoring

Dr. Dali Liu
Chemistry and Biochemistry

Community Engagement Award for Social Justice

Kendall Brenneman

SOWK 200: Introduction to Social Work
Dr. Keith Green

Loyola Medicine Hospice

Araceli Moya

SOWK 340: Social Work Practice II
Dr. Maria Vidal de Haymes

Heartland Alliance

Community Engagement Award for Impact

Eunice Montenegro

COMP 390: Broadening Participation in STEM
Dr. Ron Greenberg

Girls Who Code

Toni Garcia 

CJC 390: Capstone Experience Internship
Dr. Jona Goldschmidt

Office of Executive Inspector General for the Agencies of the Illinois Governor

Community Engagement Award for Innovation in Sustainability 

Tianna Ducloux-Potter 

HSM 360: Field Internship
Dr. Donna Williams

Cook County Health

Arielle Krahenbuhl

EXPL 390: Internship Seminar
Dr. Cynthia P. Stewart

Cook County Health