## UA1995.16

# Loyola University Chicago Vice President and Dean of Faculties Lakeshore Campus Space Committee records

Dates: 1956-1980 Creator: Pendergast, Joseph S., S.J. Extent: 1.5 linear foot Level of description: Folder Processor & date: M. McChesney, March 2014; updated by K. Young January 2015

## Administration Information

Restrictions: None

**Copyright:** Copyright in materials created by employees and committees of Loyola University Chicago in the course of their work is owned by Loyola.

**Citation:** Loyola University Chicago. Archives and Special Collections. Vice President and Dean of Faculties, Lakeshore Space Committee records, 1956-1980. Box #, Folder. **Provenance:** Transferred to the University Archives on June 16, 1995 as part of the Joseph S. Pendergast, S.J., papers. Separated from the Pendergast papers in 1995 in order to create a Lakeshore Campus Space Committee series.

**Separations:** 1" of extraneous materials were removed and disposed. **See Also:** 

### **Administrative History**

In 1937 the Committee on Faculty Appointments and Fellowships was established to oversee the faculty of the College of Arts and Sciences. Thomas A. Egan, S.J., chaired the committee from 1937 to 1940, followed by William Finnegan, S.J., Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, who chaired the committee in 1942 and 1943. In 1952 the office of Executive Dean was established, in part, to oversee faculty at the University. Jeremiah J. O'Callaghan, S.J., was appointed to this office, a position he retained until 1957. In 1953 the title of the office changed from Executive Dean to Academic Vice President. Robert W. Mulligan, S.J., succeeded O'Callaghan in 1958 and the title changed to Vice President and Dean of Faculties. Mulligan held this position until 1969, when he went on sabbatical and then transferred to Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio. From 1970 to 1980 Richard Matre, Ph.D., held the position of Vice President and Dean of faculties, followed by Ronald E. Walker, Ph.D., from 1981 to 1991. In 1983, while Walker was given the title Senior Vice President and Dean of Faculties, a title that would again be used in 1995 when James L. Wiser, Ph.D., held the office. In 1991 James L. Wiser, Ph.D., was appointed Vice President and Dean of Faculties, retaining the position until 1998 when the Dean of Faculties office was absorbed by the office of the Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs. In 2003 the Office of Faculty Administration was reestablished. From 2003 to 2010 the office was held by Assistant Provost Timothy O'Connell, Ph.D. In 2010, Anne Reilly, Ph.D., became Assistant Provost in charge of Faculty Administration.

## **Scope and Content**

The Lakeshore Campus Space Committee records consist of 1.5 linear feet spanning the years 1956 to 1980 and include meeting minutes, memoranda, floor plans, space proposals, and correspondence. Arrangement is chronological.

### **Series**

#### Series 1: Lakeshore Campus Space Committee, 1956-1980. Boxes 1-3

This series contains floor plans, proposals, correspondence, memoranda, and minutes. Subjects include Cudahy Library, recreational facilities, D'Arcy Gallery, and the Lakeshore Campus.

#### Subjects:

Loyola University Chicago Cudahy Library D'Arcy Gallery

# Accession No.: UA1995.16

Creator: Pendergast, Joseph S., S.J.

#### Box Folder

### **Title**

**Dates** 

#### Series 1: Lakeshore Campus Space Committee, 1956-1980

1	1	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1956-1959
1	2	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1957-1962
1	3	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1962-1966
1	4	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1964-1966
1	5	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1967-1969
1	6	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1968-1969
2	1	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1969-1970
2	2	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1972-1974
2	3	Theology Department: Ad hoc Committee on	1973
		Space	
2	4	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1974
2	5	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1975-1978
2	6	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee – floor	1976
		plans	
2	7	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1976-1977
3	1	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee – D'Arcy	1977
		Gallery	
3	2	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee – Cudahy	1976-1978
		Science	
3	3	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1976-1978
3	4	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1977-1978
3	5	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1978-1979
3	6	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1979
3	7	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1978-1980
3	8	Lakeshore Campus Space Committee	1979-1980