Loyola University Chicago

Midwest Modern Language Association

Graduate Student MMLA Travel Scholarship

The MMLA offers a limited number of travel scholarships for graduate students presenting at the conference. To be considered for this year's $250 award, please submit the following by October 1 to mmla@luc.edu:

1. A brief cover letter asking to be considered for a travel award and indicating other institutional sources of support, if any. Note that the MMLA will give preference to students who demonstrate need.

2. An abstract for the paper that will be presented.

3. A CV indicating your expected graduation date.

Congratulations to the winners of the Graduate Student Travel Scholarships!


2021 Winners

Jamie Chen, University of Iowa

Daniel Cymbala, Seton Hall University

Yi-Chen Andrea Lay, Indiana University, Bloomington

Maria Mothes, University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany

Michael Oshindoro, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Judit R. Palencia Gutiérrez, University of California-Riverside

Meghna Sapui, University of Florida, Gainesville

Damián V. Solano Escolano, Indiana University-Bloomington

Jessie R. Wirkus Haynes, Marquette University

Savannah Xaver, Western Michigan University


2019 Winners

Tania Balderas, University of New Mexico

Kassie Baron, University of Iowa

Molly Becker, University of Cambridge

Maria Capecchi, University of Iowa

Amrapali Chatterjee, Western University, Canada

Francie Crebs, Universite Paris-Sorbonne

Lisa Holler, University of Oregon

Suhyun Kim, University of Connecticut

Anne Mahler, University College Cork, Ireland

Erin McNulty, Purdue University

Sarah Schmitt, Indiana University

Mary Wang, National Taiwan Normal University


2018 Winners

Vanessa Aguilar, Michigan State University

Sharon Fox, University of Arkansas

Giovanna Gobbi Alves Araújo, Universidade de São Paulo

Joyce King, University of California at Santa Barbara

Michelle Mastro, Indiana University at Bloomington

Tamara Mitchell, Indiana University at Bloomington

Anthony Palmiscno, The Ohio State University

Kelly Plante, Wayne State University

Juan Suárez Ontaneda, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 

Jesse Wirkus-Haynes, Marquette University


 2017 Winners

Maxmillian Alvarez, University of Michigan and The Baffler

Sarah Coogan, University of Notre Dame

Shannon Derby, Tufts University

Kelly Douma, Pennsylvania State University

Frank Garcia, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Daniel Henke, Iowa State University

Min Ji Kang, Purdue University

Leslie Malland, University of Kentucky

Jonathan Pountney, University of Manchester UK

Rachel Walerstein, University of Iowa