Loyola University Chicago

Modern Languages and Literatures

Orientation

Foreign language advisors will be available for consultation throughout summer orientation.To initiate a session with a language counselor,please provide your name, email and LID (student ID number). A language counselor will respond to you within 24 hours, if possible. Before contacting an advisor, kindly consult the materials on foreign language placement available on the Modern Languages & Literatures website: Foreign Language Placement Exam. A placement chart, along with instructions for taking the Placement Exam are also available online. Most important, 101 classes are reserved exclusively for students with no experience in the language. If you took a beginning foreign language class in high school, you should not register for 101.

If you talk with a placement coordinator on the day of your registration, you can add the language course on your own.

If you have not received an email from one of our counselors during that time, kindly send your email directly to the department chair (Dr. Susana Cavallo, scavall@luc.edu).

If you receive a placement after your registration day but before July 12, you should visit FSYA’s Express Advising hours (www.luc.edu/fsya) to make the change, or you may reach out to your orientation academic advisor via email for assistance.

Starting on July 12, you should visitwww.luc.edu/schedulechange, where you will indicate that you consulted with a language placement coordinator (or received a placement score) and would like to add the appropriate language course to your fall schedule.

Foreign Language Advisors

Tue, Jun 8, 2021 

Dr. Susana CavalloScavall@luc.edu (Can be consulted for any language, placement)

Dr. Julia Elskyjelsky@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of French)

Dr. Clara Burgocburgo@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of Spanish)

Dr. Janet FairJfair@luc.edu (Director of Japanese Studies)

Dr. Anna Clara IontaAionta@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of Italian)

 

Tue, Jun 15, 2021

Dr. Susana Cavallo - Scavall@luc.edu (Can be consulted for any language, placement)

Dr. Janet Fair - Jfair@luc.edu (Director of Japanese Studies)

Dr. Julia Elsky - jelsky@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of French)

David Beltrandbeltran@luc.edu  (Director of Latin American & Latinx Studies Program)

Dr. Natalia Valencianvalencia@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

 

Tue, Jun 22, 2021

Dr. Susana Cavallo - Scavall@luc.edu (Can be consulted for any language, placement)

Dr. Janet Fair - Jfair@luc.edu (Director of Japanese Studies)

Dr. Julia Elsky - jelsky@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of French)

David Beltran - dbeltran@luc.edu (Director of Latin American & Latinx Studies Program)

Dr. Abaddi Sawsansabbadi@luc.edu (Director of Arabic Language & Culture Minor)

 

Tue, Jun 29, 2021

Dr. Susana Cavallo - Scavall@luc.edu (Can be consulted for any language, placement)

Dr. Janet Fair - Jfair@luc.edu (Director of Japanese Studies)

Dr. Julia Elsky - jelsky@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of French)

Dr. Natalia Valencia - nvalencia@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

Adriana Diaz Lewisadiazlewis@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

 

Tue, Jul 6, 2021

Dr. Abaddi Sawsan - sabbadi@luc.edu (Director of Arabic Language & Culture Minor)

Adriana Diaz Lewis - adiazlewis@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

Dr. Janet Fair - Jfair@luc.edu (Director of Japanese Studies)

Dr. Cristina Lombardi - Diop -clombardidiop@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of Italian)

Dr. Eliana Vagalauevagalau@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of French)

Mary Carolanmcarolan1@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

 

 Tue, Jul 13, 2021

Mary Carolan - mcarolan1@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

Dr. Eliana Vagalau - evagalau@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of French)

Adriana Diaz Lewis - adiazlewis@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

Dr. Cristina Lombardi - Diop -clombardidiop@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of Italian)

Dr. Janet Fair - Jfair@luc.edu (Director of Japanese Studies)

 

Tue, Jul 20, 2021

Dr. Janet Fair - Jfair@luc.edu  (Director of Japanese Studies)

Dr. Eliana Vagalau - evagalau@luc.edu (Undergraduate Program Director of French)

Mary Carolan - mcarolan1@luc.edu (Spanish Lecturer)

 For more detailed questions regarding a specific language please contact our Language Placement Coordinators

 

Foreign Language Placement Procedure