Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom

Press Release - June 11, 2021

Media Contact
Anna Shymanski Zach
Communication Specialist
Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago Approves New Collective Bargaining Agreement with Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Represented by SEIU Local 73

Four-year agreement provides increased pay and provides additional workload flexibility for full- and part-time non-tenure-track faculty

CHICAGO, June 11, 2021 — Loyola University Chicago announced today that a new collective bargaining agreement (CBA) with its non-tenure-track faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) was approved by the University’s Board of Trustees on June 3, 2021, after it was ratified by CAS non-tenure-track faculty represented in the negotiations by Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 73.

“The University and our non-tenure-track faculty had an excellent working relationship during the previous contract, and we feel this new agreement both strengthens that relationship and reflects our appreciation for the many contributions of those faculty members,” said Peter J. Schraeder, PhD, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Loyola University Chicago. “We are grateful to our non-tenure-track faculty for putting our students first throughout the negotiation process, especially as they’ve skillfully navigated the challenges of the past year.”

The agreement with CAS SEIU-represented faculty extends through June 30, 2025. Among other benefits, it:

  • Calls for an immediate salary increase for most SEIU-represented faculty;
  • Keeps Loyola CAS non-tenure-track faculty among the highest paid non-tenured faculty in Chicagoland;
  • Offers increased opportunities for workload flexibility for unionized faculty;
  • Creates a parental leave policy for part-time unionized faculty;
  • Provides earlier notification of tentative class assignments and schedules for part-time unionized faculty;
  • Creates a number of new regular full-time non-tenure track appointments in CAS;
  • Opens the professional development fund to part-time faculty who have completed two semesters of teaching and all unionized faculty in CAS; and
  • Is fiscally responsible, ensuring Loyola can continue to offer a high-quality, affordable education to our students.

Additional information related to the CBA negotiations can be found at LUC.edu/bargaining.

About Loyola University Chicago
Founded in 1870, Loyola University Chicago is one of the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic universities, with more than 16,600 students. Nearly 11,500 undergraduates call Loyola home. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy, as well as course locations in Saigon-Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; Vernon Hills, Illinois (Cuneo Mansion and Gardens); and a Retreat and Ecology Campus in Woodstock, Illinois. The University features 14 schools, colleges, and institutes, including Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago, College of Arts and Sciences, Graduate School, Institute of Environmental Sustainability, Institute of Pastoral Studies, Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing, Parkinson School of Health Sciences and Public Health, Quinlan School of Business, School of Communication, School of Continuing and Professional Studies, School of Education, School of Law, School of Social Work, and Stritch School of Medicine. Ranked a top national university by U.S. News & World Report, Loyola is also among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations like the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service. To learn more about Loyola, visit LUC.edu, “like” us at Facebook.com/LoyolaChicago, or follow us on Twitter via @LoyolaChicago.