Loyola University Chicago

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing

Class Notes

Laura Tucker-Longsworth (MSN ’02) was elected the new President of the Forum of Presiding Officers of Legislative Assemblies of Central America and the Caribbean Basin. She is also speaker of the Belize House of Representatives

Lisa Burkhart (PhD ’02), RN, MPH and Fran Vlasses (PhD ’97), RN wrote the abstract "Photovoice: Primary Care Redesign Guided by Nursing Research?” which was selected as a Distinguished Abstract for the 2017 Midwest Nursing Research Society Annual Conference.

Mary Byrn (PhD ’11) RN and Jennifer Gambon Lucas (MSN ‘07, BSN ’02) RN, FNP-BC were selected as 40 under 40 Emerging Nurse Leaders in Illinois.

Carol Kostovich (PhD ’02), RN has been appointed the new Associate Dean for Simulation-Based Teaching and Learning. Dr. Kostovich has a plan for increasing simulation throughout all three campuses (LSC, HSC and now Downers Grove Campus), and programs including Exercise Science, Health Systems Management, Dietetics, MSN, DNP, and PhD.

Karen Aguirre (BS HSM ‘14) was the recipient of the Loyola University Chicago Set the World on Fire Award. The award, sponsored by Student Diversity & Multicultural Affairs, honors an outstanding alumnus who has committed herself to embracing diversity and social justice since graduating from LUC.

Vicki Bacidore (DNP ’16, MSN ’06), ANP, ACNP-BC, who was appointed to serve as a member of the Illinois Poison Advisory Board by the Illinois Department of Public Health. In this role she will help advise the regulation of regional poison control centers that fall under the Poison Control Systems Act.

Darlie Simerson (DNP ’16), APN, FNP-BC, served as a panelist for the discussion “Addiction and Pain Management” at the Interdisciplinary Symposium on Opioids at Northwestern Pritzker School of Law.

To share a “Class Note” with the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing Office of Alumni Relations, please email NiehoffAlumni@luc.edu.