Loyola University Chicago

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing

Faculty and Team


P. Ann Solari-Twadell, PhD, RN, MPA, FAAN

Associate Professor, Program Director of the Primary Care Community Health Nursing Scholar (PCCHNS) program;  Director, Global Health Experiences and International Studies. More information.



Pamela Andresen, PhD, RN

Associate professor. Interests - community-based organizations. More information.



Lisa Burkhart, PhD, RN, MPH

Associate Professor. Teaches graduate courses in epistemology, theory and concepts, outcomes performance, spiritual care, and ethics.  She is also a TeamSTEPPS master trainer in primary care. More information.



Jorgia B. Connor, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor. Director of 4-Year BSN Program.  Research interest is in the area of health promotion and psychosocial well-being in the Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) population.  Her research seeks to understand the relationship among cumulative life stress, biomarkers of stress, cellular aging, and chronic disease risk in vulnerable and understudied populations. More information.



Regina Conway-Phillips, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor. Dr. Conway-Phillips teaches in the undergraduate health systems management and undergraduate and graduate nursing programs.  Courses taught include research for health professionals, health care in America, introduction to professional nursing practice, health care of vulnerable populations, individual, family and community wellness and health, professional role development: researcher, leadership for nursing and advanced practicum: health systems management and infection prevention.  More information.



Monica Dillon

Director of the Loyola Community Nursing Center in Rogers Park. More information.



Diana Hackbarth, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor.  Interests - Health policy, health programming planning and evaluation. Currently the Project Director for the HRSA-funded Loyola University Chicago School of Nursing School-based Health Center at Proviso East High School in Maywood, IL.  The School-based Health Center provides primary health care, mental health, health education and nutrition services for elementary and high school students in underserved communities. More information.



Gloria Jacobson, PhD, RN

Professor.  Chair, Department of Health Promotion. More information.



Carol Kostovich, PhD, RN, CHSE

Associate Professor. Associate Dean for Simulation-Based Teaching and Learning. Has taught graduate and undergraduate research courses and graduate level teaching courses. More information.



Lisa Skemp, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN

Professor. Chair, Department of Health Systems, Leadership and Policy.  Teaching expertise is in Qualitative Research (doctoral students from nursing, medicine, global health, social work and women’s studies), Community/Public Health Nursing, Global Health, and gerontology. More information.



Janet McCarthy, MSA, MBA, RN

Instructor, ABSN Program Director.  More information.



Dr. Annie Thomas, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor. Research interests: Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular health, obesity, health promotion, disease prevention, physical activity, adolescent health, health disparity, nursing research dissemination and utilization gap in the developing countries. More information.



Frances Vlasses, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, ANEF, FAAN

Associate Professor. Chair, Health Systems, Leadership & Policy, Co-Director of the Institute for Transformative Interprofessional Education. Interests - health systems management, financial management, outcomes performance management. More information.



Project Consultants:

Dr Ida Androwich - Expert in Care of the Underserved

Dr Sheila Haas - Expert in Care Coordination

Anh Reiland - Expert in Medical Home