Loyola University Chicago

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing


Loyola’s Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing celebrates class of 2014

Loyola’s Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing celebrates class of 2014

End-of-year ceremonies, commencement honor new graduates

MAYWOOD, Ill. – May is a busy month for students at Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing. Here is a recap of events bringing the 2013-14 school year to a close:

Honors and Pinning Ceremonies
Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing welcomed graduating students into the nursing profession at its spring 2014 ABSN and BSN Honors and Pinning Ceremonies on Wednesday, May 7, at the Health Sciences and Lake Shore campuses. The pinning is a long-standing tradition that represents the transition from student to nurse. The following awards and honors were presented during the ceremony:

Alumni Award: Ann Tadas, Kara Podjasek
Laura Difiglio Klink Scholarship: Erin Esko
Gladys Kiniery Clinical Excellence Award: Kristen Fiedler, Julia Newman
Carol Kraft Award: Sarah Shumate, Mallory Chase
Dean’s Gold Key Award: Stuart Rivard, Danielle Balzano

View ABSN event photos here and BSN event photos here.

Celebration of Magis
The 2014 Health Systems Management and Exercise Science graduating seniors participated in Loyola’s first Celebration of Magis, a year-end event honoring all graduates and their families. Magis, which means “more” in Latin, was chosen as the celebratory theme as a way of emphasizing a lasting connection between graduates and Loyola’s Jesuit principles of giving, doing and being more for others.

A Magis Pledge and Blessing were offered at the ceremony to distinguish the graduates’ new careers as ones marked by values, ethics and service. The following awards and honors were presented:

Honors Program: Faraaz Ahmed and Kerry Hampston
Spirit Award: Faraaz Ahmed (Exercise Science), Mecca Johnson (Health Systems Management) and Bianca Rogers (Health Systems Management)
Leadership and Advocacy in Healthcare Award: Nicole Nowak (Exercise Science) and Nealy Doss (Health Systems Management)
Scholastic Honors Certificates (3.5 – 3.69 GPA): Carli Chatlosh, Sarah Choudhry, Mecca Johnson and Lindsey Kramer (Health Systems Management)
Scholastic Silver Keys (3.7+ GPA): Lily Dickens, Nealy Doss, Fatima Elahi, Kerry Hampston, Abdullah Motiwala, Devan Patel, Sophia Reyes, Bianca Rogers, Michael Russo
Dean’s Gold Keys: Kerry Hampston (Exercise Science) and Michael Russo (Health Systems Management). The Dean’s Gold Key award is the highest distinction given to graduating students. The faculty selected one student from each program who best embodies Loyola’s mission of academic excellence, service and leadership. 

View photos here.

Commencement took place for doctoral masters and dietetics students on Wednesday, May 7, followed by graduation for undergraduate nursing students on Thursday, May 8, at Loyola’s Lake Shore Campus. More than 400 students graduated from the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing. Amir Zadaka, Nursing master’s degree candidate, was student speaker. Judith Scully, RN ’62, PhD, delivered the keynote address.

View photos here.

Day of Scholarship
The school held its spring Day of Scholarship on Friday, May 9, at the Health Sciences Campus. This event highlighted the scholarship of Loyola’s Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Dietetic students and celebrated the completion of their graduate coursework.

Master of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Dietetics students are required to complete a comprehensive paper on a self-selected health-care topic. Graduates then present their review of the literature to other students, faculty members, friends and families at the Day of Scholarship.

Sixty-four graduates presented their work this spring. One expected outcome of this process is to prepare graduates to publish manuscripts on their topics in the health-care literature.

View photos here.