Loyola University Chicago

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing


Loyola School of Nursing students, staff and alumni earn accolades

School recognizes achievements in research and grants 

MAYWOOD, Ill. – Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing recognized recent accomplishments and honors for faculty, students and alumni.

Vicki Keough, PhD, APRN-BC, ACNP, FAAN, dean and professor, received the Emergency Nurses Association’s Judith C. Kelleher Award, one of 12 Achievement Awards bestowed annually that recognizes emergency nurses who exemplify exceptional professional practice, innovation, leadership and advocacy in emergency nursing. Dean Keough will be recognized October 11 at the 2014 ENA Annual Conference Awards Gala in Indianapolis.

Dean Keough also was accepted into the Wharton Executive Leadership Program in Philadelphia this August. Only 40 experienced deans/directors are welcomed to participate in this highly competitive, four-day program sponsored by the American Academy of Colleges of Nursing.

Karen Egenes, EdD, RN, associate professor and chair, Health Promotion Department, has been named to the scientific panel for the NET2014 Conference, an International Networking for Healthcare Education Conference, to be held September. 2-4 in Cambridge, UK.

Leann Horsley, PhD, RN, assistant professor, recently achieved certification as a Healthcare Simulation Educator (CHSE) through the interprofessional Society for Simulation in Healthcare. This accomplishment makes her one of only 340 CHSEs from 12 countries to receive this credential.

Alumna Barbara M. Brodie, PhD, BSN ’57, RN, FAAN, received Loyola’s prestigious Damen award for her leadership in industry, leadership in the community, and service to others. Damen awards were presented June 28 to an alumnus of each of Loyola’s schools at the annual Founders’ Dinner.