External Advisory Board

The Loyola University Chicago Health Care Administration program is guided by an External Advisory Board. The External Advisory Board provides guidance on educational priorities in preparing the health care administration workforce for the future. The board is made up of respected health industry leaders, faculty and program alumni. We are honored to have the following distinguished colleagues serve on the HCA External Advisory Board:


MaryMargaret Sharp-Pucci, EdD, MPH
Director & Assistant Professor, Health Systems Management

Advisory Board Members

Peter Barth
Managing Consultant, Healthcare

Earnest Davis, MHSA, FACHE
Healthcare Executive Consultant

Luis Garcia, BS, HSM
Patient Care Navigator, Population Health
Rush University Medical Center

Dawn V. Gay, MBA-HCM
Executive Director
Patient Innovation Center

Cheryl Grendahl, RN, BSN, MBA
Director of Patient Access
University of Chicago Medicine

JoAnn Klinedinst, MEd, CPHIMS, PMP, DES, FHIMSS
Vice President of Professional Development
Healthcare Information & Management Systems Society (HIMSS)

Bernadette Lim, BS, HSM
Manager, Practice Transformation
Professional Satisfaction & Practice Sustainability
American Medical Association

Jon Orwat, PhD
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Loyola University Chicago

Diane M. Ross, MS
Mental Health Counselor, Private Practice

John Stys, RN, MS, MA, CPHQ
Chief Operating Officer & Chief Nursing Officer
Rainbow Hospice & Palliative Care

Michael Swarzman, MBA
Vice President, Clinical Institutes, Business Development and Hospital Based Programs
Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center
Vice President, System Business Development
Advocate Health Care

Jonathan M. Winarski, BS, HSM
Sales Operations Manager, Health Solutions Group
American Medical Association

HCA Program Members

Karen Berg-Helfgot, MEd
Director of Clinical Placements & Experiential Learning

Antonio Ortiz
Program Coordinator

Lee Schmidt, PhD, RN
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs