Loyola University Chicago


Social Justice In Philanthropy Award: Call For Nominations!

Purpose and Criteria

In 2007, the Louis T. Delgado Social Justice in Philanthropy Award was established and named after Louis T. Delgado, founder and former director of the NMPS program, for his dedication and ongoing work to promote social justice within the field of philanthropy and to a wider audience.  Prior to his tenure at Loyola, Delgado held the position of senior policy specialist at the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.  Louis T. Delgado,  a member of the Oneida Nation, is a founder and member emeritus of Native Americans in Philanthropy.  In addition to having an award named after him, the NMPS, in a wonderful gesture to honor Delgado's good work, presented him with the inaugural Louis T. Delgado Social Justice in Philanthropy Award.   

The Louis T. Delgado Social Justice in Philanthropy Award recipient is selected by a diverse committee.  The award is given annually to honor and recognize an individual who or organization that best exemplifies a strong commitment to social justice and the advancement of philanthropy, and whose achievements have made an impact on society and in the metropolitan Chicago area. 

Nomination Process

All nominations should include specific and current examples of the individual's or organization's achievements and contributions that reflect the principle criteria and attributes aforementioned.  Nominations will only be accepted via email. 

To submit a nomination, please email a statement of 300 words maximum, to pfas@luc.edu


Nominations will be accepted through Friday, February 4, 2011.

Selection Process

All nominations and corresponding forms will be kept confidential before, during and after the selection process.

Award and Presentation

The recipient will receive a beautiful award, which will be presented at the 2011 Philanthropy For All Seasons reception, to be held on Thursday, June 16, 2011 (location to be confirmed) on Loyola's Water Tower Campus.  Winners must be present to accept the award.

The recipient will also receive a congratulatory letter from the NMPS director, and recognition on the NMPS Philanthropy For All Seasons web site.


Please forward any inquiries and concerns to us at pfas@luc.edu

View previous year's recipient of the annual Louis T. Delgado Social Justice in Philanthropy Award