Loyola University Chicago

Department of Physics


Celebration Time!!!

Celebration Time!!!

The Department is proud of the 2020 graduates. The Department wishes them the very best as they go forward in their lives and careers. 


In the Spring, the Department gave out its annual awards for academic excellence, research achievements, service to the following students:

Dougherty Memorial Award:     Joseph Summers

Horan Physics Award:                Andrew Ducharme

Gerst Memorial Award

Freshman:                 Kaleigh O’Brien, Michael Harris

Sophomore:               Grace Bratrud, Luke Ignell, Christopher Nguyen

Junior:                       Ryan Bonate, Zalia Cook, Serena Watson

Senior:                       Symon Kasperek

Service Award:                 Brendan O’Donnell, Maegan Gibbons

Sigma Pi Sigma: Joe Summers, Andrew Ducharme, Kaleigh O’Brien, Michael Harris, Grace Bratrud, Luke Ignell, Christopher Nguyen, Ryan Bonate, Zalia Cook, Natalie West, Jonathon Staunton, Mariano Gonzalez, Joe Mazich, Collin Dannheim, Luke Ignell, Joe Mazich, Josh Washington, Mary Woloszyn, Symon Kasperek, Serena Watson  


The Loyola College of Arts and Science awarded the following physics students with Mulcahy Fellowships, which are proposal-based awards to support their research with faculty in 2020-2021. Loyola Physics students have been successful in earning these research fellowships

StudentFaculty MentorProject Title
Grace Bratrud  Dr. Walter Tangarife  Phenomenology of Fuzzy Dark Matter 
Zalia Cook Dr. Bo Polak  Combatting Invasive Species with Electric Barriers
Luke Ignell  Dr. Walter Tangarife  Black holes and the membrane paradigm 
Jack Kraus   Dr. Walter Tangarife   The relic abundance of dark matter 
Josh Washington Dr. Jon Bougie Modeling a Robust Electrical Barrier to Deter Invasive Species


The College also recognized two Physics faculty as finalists for its annual Sujack Family Awards for teaching and research excellence. Dr. Bo Polak (Master Teacher) and Dr. Brian Cannon (Master Researcher). This was Dr. Polak's second time to receive this award. Department faculty have now been recipients of this award twelve times since 1994.