Loyola University Chicago

Office of the President

Provost Search Committee Announcement


Loyola Community,

As you know, Christine Wiseman, provost, will be leaving to become president of Saint Xavier University next year. We will conduct a search for her replacement with the intention of hiring a new provost who could start next summer. The search committee for this position has been selected and will be co-chaired by Rob Kelly, vice president for student development, and Justin Daffron, S.J., associate provost for academic services. The committee members are Sam Attoh, dean of the Graduate School; Diane Geraghty, professor of law; Don Heider, dean of the School of Communication; Peter Schraeder, professor of political science and chair of Faculty Council; and Nancy Tuchman, professor of biology and director of CUERP.

As you can see from the list of those selected, we will have representation from a variety of schools and disciplines. The process will be open to input through fora designed to introduce selected finalists to various constituencies on the lakeside campuses. I am hopeful that we can select finalists in the early part of the spring semester and bring candidates to campus in March or April. I have asked John Pelissero to serve as interim provost when Chris Wiseman moves to her new position, and I am grateful to him for his willingness to serve in this role.

If you have any questions or would like to submit a candidate recommendation, please contact either Rob Kelly at rkelly1@luc.edu or Justin Daffron, S.J., at jdaffro@luc.edu.

Michael J. Garanzini, S.J.
President, Loyola University Chicago