Loyola University Chicago

Office of the President


Lorna Finnegan named dean of the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing

January 10, 2019

Dear Members of the Loyola Community,

We are pleased to announce that Lorna Finnegan, PhD, RN, FNP, FAAN, has been named dean of the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing. She will join Loyola on July 1, 2019.

Lorna is an experienced nurse, family nurse practitioner, educator, and leader. She joins Loyola from the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) College of Nursing, where she is executive associate dean and an associate professor of health systems science.

She held a variety of leadership roles at UIC including head and associate head of the Department of Health Systems Science, where she oversaw the faculty and operations of the largest department in the College of Nursing. At UIC, She led strategic planning efforts, mentored and coached many faculty and staff across six campuses, exceeded enrollment goals for the doctor of nursing practice programs, and helped automate and optimize faculty workload and teaching assignments and other operational processes.

Lorna also was the founding director of the Family Nurse Practitioner Program at Saint Xavier University School of Nursing, where she created and led two academic practice partnerships in Chicago. She has practiced as a nurse in the ICU and as a family nurse practitioner in many underserved clinical settings.

Through her scholarship, clinical practice, and leadership, her innovative strategies have helped increase access to primary care and reduce health disparities in vulnerable and underserved populations. She has been principal and co-investigator on multiple grants, including National Institutes of Heath R01 grants to identify clusters of symptoms and risk factors in childhood cancer survivors and other at-risk populations. Her research has been published internationally, and she was a visiting scholar in Thailand, South Africa, and South Korea. She was named a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing in 2017 and is currently president of the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties.

Our thanks to the search committee for leading this national search. We are especially grateful to John Hardt, PhD, who chaired the committee while continuing in his dual roles at the University and Loyola Medicine.

We also would like to express our tremendous gratitude to Dean Vicki Keough, PhD, RN, FAAN, for her years of dedication and service to the School of Nursing and Loyola as she transitions from dean to faculty member. Her strong leadership has positioned the school for a bright future.

Please join us in welcoming Lorna to Loyola.


Jo Ann Rooney, JD, LLM, EdD

Margaret Faut Callahan,
Interim Provost and Chief Academic Officer
Provost, Health Sciences Division