Loyola University Chicago

Quinlan School of Business

Illinois Family Business of the Year Award finalists announced

Illinois Family Business of the Year Award finalists announced

Family businesses celebrated their Illinois Family Business of the Year award nominations at a recent reception. Pictured is Katie Kohler of Henry Bros. Co., a finalist in the Small Business award category.

The finalists for the 2016 Illinois Family Business of the Year Awards were announced on Tuesday, July 26 by the Family Business Center at Loyola University Chicago.

Presented in six categories, the awards recognize companies with a strong commitment to family and family business. Professionals in a variety of fields, including family-owned business leaders, served as judges to review all applications and determine the winners.

2016 Finalists

Small Business

Companies with fewer than 50 employees

  • Henry Bros. Co.
  • Kopicki Family Funeral Homes
  • A. Perry Homes

Medium Business

Companies with 50 to 250 employees

  • MidCo, Inc.
  • Regis Technologies
  • Edlong Dairy Technologies

Large Business

Companies with more than 250 employees

  • Alpine Bank
  • IDEAL Industries
  • Steiner Electric

Community Service

  • Garvey’s Office Products
  • Alpine Bank
  • Handi-Foil

The Family Business Center will also recognize exemplary family businesses with the Century Award and Dean’s Award.

Awards Gala

All the winners will be honored at an awards gala on Wednesday, November 16, 2016, at The Four Seasons Hotel Chicago. The gala attracts professionals from throughout the Chicago area, as well as previous Family Business of the Year winners and finalists and members of the Family Business Center.

This year’s gala sponsors include BMO Harris Bank, Katten Muchin Rosenman, Grant Thornton, MassMutual Hoopis Financial Group, MB Financial Bank, Oxford Financial Group, Perkins Coie, The Private Client Reserve of U.S. Bank, Crain’s Chicago Business, and Eli’s Cheesecake. 

For more information on the Illinois Family Business of the Year Awards gala, please visit LUC.edu/fbc.